Skip to main content

WR 13300 — Multimedia Writing & Rhetoric (Smith)

Instructor & Course Description

Caitlin Smith

WR 13300-16 Multimedia Writing & Rhetoric

"Course Description:
Because researching and composing arguments is increasingly linked to technological tools, multimedia sections of Writing and Rhetoric teach students how to make the most of a wide array of resources. From standard tools, such as Microsoft Word, to more powerful Web sites and software, students in multimedia sections use composition technology to its fullest while exploring the unique opportunities and challenges of composing in the 21st century. While students do not need any prior technological skills, they should be ready to learn many of these skills over the course of the semester."

Overview

  • Sociological Abstracts [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, book
    Coverage: 1952-present
  • America: History and Life [EBSCO] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Search can
    Coverage: 1910-
  • MLA International Bibliography [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    The MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures provides citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations MLAIB does not index book reviews.
    Coverage: 1925-
  • Project Muse (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Searchable collection of over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences.  
  • Academic search premier (EBSCO)
    "multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles."--Provider description. Coverage: 1975-
  • Web of Science Core Collection [Web of Science]  Thanks to strong support from faculty members from many different disciplines, financial contributions from the Graduate School and the Provost's Office, the Libraries have subscribed to ISI Web of Science! The three Web of Science indexes, premier tools for advanced research, include Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. We have a license for 15 concurrent users, so there may be times when you may find that all ports are in use. Be careful to 'Logout' when finished to free up access for colleagues.
  • Ethnic Newswatch [ProQuest] 
    Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.
    Coverage: 1959-

Center for Digital Scholarship Sound Studio

One Button Studio  (Audio and Video)

Remix Digital Resource Portal

Undergraduate Library Research Award (ULRA)

Library of Congress

Loading

Tutorial(s)

Heidle, Jeff. MLA Formatting: Microsoft Word 2007 & 2010. Rev. to include bibliography and header info. Video, 3:30, Uploaded January 6, 2011.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Qf8AfiCcD4
 
 

 

Loading

Etc.

Modern Language Association

Used for: Literature, Liberal Arts, Humanities

Electronic Access: OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab/ MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Library Copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 2009.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Printed 7th ed., 2009. (other copies)

Quick Guides:

Loading