Skip to main content

Travels in Ireland — A Guide and Bibliography

A bibliography of accounts of travels in Ireland from the seventeenth to the nineteenth centuries.

Introduction

This is a guide to historical travel literature on Ireland in the Hesburgh Libraries. The bibliography lists books that are in the Hesburgh Library and also books that are available in electronic format, either by subscription or on the World Wide Web.

Organization of this bibliography is based on C. J. Woods' guide, Travellers' accounts as source-material for Irish historians (2009).

Books with a 'Special Collections' designation are in the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.  These may be consulted in the Special Collections Reading Room, and may be requested in advance.

Links to subscription sources are restricted to the Notre Dame community, but links to WWW resources such as the Internet Archive are available to all.

Sources of Information on Travel Writing

Woods, C. J. Travellers' accounts as source material for Irish historians. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2009.  Hesburgh Library DA 905 .W66 2009.
This book is an essential research guide to the travel literature in general, and to the 209 listed accounts in particular.  The bibliographic entries include substantial information on the contents and the itineraries.

Woods, C. J. 'Irish travel writing as source material'. Irish Historical Studies, Vol 28, no. 110 (Nov. 1992), pp. 171-193.
   Available online through JSTOR.

McVeagh, John.  Irish travel writing: a bibliography. Dublin: Wolfhound Press, 1996.  Hesburgh Library DA 969 .M39 1996.

Harrington, John P. The English traveller in Ireland; accounts of Ireland and the Irish through five centuries. Dublin: Wolfhound Press, 1991. Hesburgh Library DA 969 .E53 1991

Hooper, Glenn. The tourist's gaze: travellers to Ireland, 1800-2000.  Cork: Cork University Press, 2001. Hesburgh Library DA 969 .T68 2001

HathiTrust Collection