Skip to main content

WR 13100 (13) — Writing and Rhetoric (Duffy)

Finding Articles

n easy way to find articles is by using the Articles tab of the library's search interface. Quick Search lets you search several article databases at once. Article QuickSearch lets you search databases in several broad subject categories and has advanced search features that let you choose which databases and fields (title, subject, etc.) to search.

For more complete results and more powerful functionality, search in specific article databases, which typically specialize in a subject area.

Articles tab highlighted in libraries search interfacer

You might also try one of the Most Used Artcicle Databases..

General & Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

General & Multidisciplinary

Expanded Academic ASAP

General & Multidisciplinary

Google Scholar

General & Multidisciplinary

JSTOR

Business

ABI/INFORM global

Business and News

Factiva

Business and News

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Language and Literature

MLA Bibliography

Psychology

PsycInfo

Science & Social Sciences

Web of Science

Theology and Religion

ATLA

 

Your professor may require you to cite scholarly articles as part of an assignment. Many of our databases allow you to limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Below are examples from two popular General and Multidisciplinary databases.

In Academic Search Premier, check the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box:

academic search premier interface


In Expanded Academic ASAP, check "Limit the results to peer-reviewed publications" to narrow results to scholarly articles:

expanded academic interface

I

 


When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly," while magazine articles are usually considered "popular". A third category, "trade" magazines or journals, are written for professionals in a particular field but are not strictly research related. 

Click here to see the characteristics of popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. Or view this video created by Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University.

 

Has a professor asked that your sources be from peer reviewed sources but you are still not sure what that means? Read on to find out. 

Peer review means that a board of scholarly reviewers in the subject area of the journal review materials they publish for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before articles are accepted for publication. If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications they have been vetted by scholars in your field for quality and importance.  

To learn more about the peer-review process, check out this video from North Carolina State University Libraries.

Loading ...