Scholarly Resources - AFST 13181 — Black Politics After the Civil Rights Revolution (Pinderhughes) - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

Search Strategies (Keywords)

Search strategies composed of keywords taken from your course topics have been been combined using boolean operators and structured grouping, below. You may paste them into any library or internet search engine to facilitate your research and/or mix and match these terms and strategies to produce different results. Remember to use each catalog or database’s built-in features to place limits on or refine your results. To ensure the currency of resources, limit your coverage to the last five years, unless you have require a larger historical scope to your search. For more information, see:

Boolean Search Strategies

The search phrases below use a truncation operator (*) — for example, the search term “immigra*” would find matches for both "immigrant(s)" and "immigration." Note that this operator may not be functional in all services.

"civil rights" AND politic*
politic* AND (black AND African American)
Police brutality AND civil rights
Police brutality AND civil rights AND Movement

rac* AND (police AND violence)
(class OR status) AND (city OR suburban) AND gentr*
(class OR status) AND (city OR suburban) AND gentr* AND justice
(gender OR sex*) AND politic* AND (African American AND black)

To receive the best results, you may add one or more of the following phrases:

AND (America OR "United States")
AND (Black* OR “African American” OR multiracial)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Some of the most representational online reference sources (encyclopedias, bibliographies, etc.) on general history available through the Hesburgh Libraries.

Encyclopedia Britannica online This link opens in a new window
Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, articles not yet in the print Britannica encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (tenth edition), and the Britannica book of the year.
Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.

Articles

General Sources

Some of the databases that the Libraries subscribe to are not available, or only partially available, through OneSearch. In addition to OneSearch, you can search in the individual databases listed below.

CQ researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more, with a United States focus. Includes news covered in print issues of: Editorial research reports (1924-1986), Congressional quarterly's editorial research reports (1987-1991) and CQ researcher (1991-).
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides "find text" links to Hesburgh Library if you are within the ND IP area.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni delivers unmatched depth and quality when it comes to content. With more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

Controversial Issues

Journals

NAACP's The Crisis Magazine
The CRISIS is the official publication of the NAACP. It is a quarterly journal of civil rights, history, politics, and culture and seeks to educate and challenge its readers about issues that continue to plague African Americans and other communities of color.
Urban Affairs Review
Urban Affairs Review is a peer-reviewed, bi-monthly journal focused on questions of politics, governance, and public policy specifically as they relate to cities and/or their regions. Submissions of empirical and comparative research from different scholarly disciplines and methodological perspectives are encouraged.

Books

Searching for Books

The ND Catalog is a good first place to start. You can find books (electronic and print), DVDs, and databases available through the Hesburgh Libraries, the Kresge Law, Saint Mary's, Bethel, and Holy Cross Libraries. You may also wish to search WorldCat for works not available at Notre Dame. Works not available in the Catalog or WorldCat, may be requested by Interlibrary Loan. Finally, Google Books may produce interesting search results.

ND Catalog
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.
WorldCat
Google Books
Especially helpful in finding information on specialized topics, including the exact pages within a book where a subject is discussed.

Selected Books

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Call Number: E 185.615 .C6335
ISBN: 1925240703
Publication Date: July 16, 2015
Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a framework for understanding our nation's history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of "race," a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men -- bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion.
For Us, the Living by William Peters (As told to); Myrlie Evers; Willie Morris (Introduction by)
Call Number: F 349 .J13 E94
ISBN: 0878058419
Publication Date: 1996-02-01
In For Us, the Living Medgar Evers' widow tells a moving story of her courtship and of her marriage to this heroic man who learned to live with the probability of violent death. She describes her husband's unrelenting devotion to the quest of achieving civil rights for thousands of black Mississippians and of his ultimate sacrifice on that hot summer night.
Black Political Organizations in the Post-civil Rights Era by Ollie A. Johnson; Karin L. Stanford
Call Number: E 185.615 .B5465
ISBN: 0813534909
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Political scientists Ollie A. Johnson III and Karin L. Stanford have assembled a group of scholars who examine the leadership, membership, structure, goals, ideology, activities, accountability, and impact of contemporary black political organizations and their leaders. Questions considered are: How have these organizations adapted to the changing sociopolitical and economic environment? What ideological shifts, if any, have occurred within each one? What issues are considered important to black political groups and what strategies are used to implement their agendas?
Black Leaders on Leadership by Phyllis Leffler
Call Number: E 185.615 .L43
ISBN: 9781137342508
Publication Date: 2014-12-04
Drawing on a wealth of oral interviews, Conversations on Black Leadership uses the lives of prominent African Americans to trace the contours of Black leadership in America. Included here are fascinating accounts from a wide variety of figures such as John Lewis, Clarence Thomas, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Angela Davis, Amiri Baraka, and many more.

Online Resources

General Resources

ACLU's Fighting Police Abuse Manual
A practical guide to engaging politically in the struggle against police violence.
Pew Research Center
In depth, well-researched reports on a variety of topics. This nonpartisan organization informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
U.S. Department of Justice
The D.O.J.'s website provides case highlights, legislative histories and publications and insight into current events through the news and the blog.
United Nations Human Rights Committee Report 2014
Concluding observations on the fourth report of the United States of America - regarding the treatment of African Americas.

Apps Documenting Police Abuse

#BlackLivesMatter and #AllLivesMatter

Black Lives Matter — Twitter
#alllivesmatter
The results in twitter with the #alllivesmatter twitter handle.
#blacklivesmatter
The results in twitter with the #blacklivesmatter twitter handle.

Related Resources

Related Subject Guides

These related guides address subjects related to the study of Africana Studies.

Africana Studies
by Leslie L. Morgan Last Updated Aug 8, 2023 194 views this year
American Studies
by Rachel Bohlmann Last Updated Feb 1, 2024 109 views this year
Anthropology
by Tara Kenjockety Last Updated Nov 8, 2023 87 views this year
Political Science
by Mark Robison Last Updated Feb 9, 2024 398 views this year
Sociology
by Jessica Kayongo Last Updated Oct 26, 2023 106 views this year
Statistics and Probability
by Thurston Miller Last Updated Aug 9, 2023 154 views this year

Related Subject Librarians

You may wish to contact these Librarians for additional assistance in closely related subject areas.

Doug Archer
Peace Studies, Global Affairs, and Political Science Librarian
Hesburgh Library
246 Hesburgh Library
(574) 631-6656
j.d.archer.1@nd.edu

Dwight B. King
Law Librarian
Kresge Law Library
2303 Bolchini Hall
(574) 631-5993
king.1@nd.edu