Skip to main content

HESBURGH LIBRARIES  >  Library Guides

Scholarly Publishing: Author Metrics

This guide covers metrics, open access, tools to decide where to publish, who is citing me, author rights and, definitions

Author Metrics

By Chessor (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Make sure your research is associated with you.

Many people have similar names and names can change.  Make sure that your research is identified with you by establishing an ORCID and using it across platforms.  When it comes to establishing your h factor you'll be glad you did.

Major repositories and publisher systems. e.g. Web of Science, have systems to disambiguate authors. The major ones include:

ORCID  vendor-neutral author identification, intended to work across platforms

ResearcherID is Thomson Reuters unique identifier and is used in Web of Science.

Scopus Author Identifier: (Elsevier) unique researcher identification. 

arXiv Author ID (Cornell)

eRA Commons Username  (National Institutes of Health)

OpenID this is a relatively new identification and appears to be aimed at identities in the commercial space, not intended to be used as to disambiguate between researchers and scholars.  

Who's Citing Whom?

Academic Search Premier

This is a multidisciplinary database covering 1984-present. If an article has been cited there will be "cited references" under the article in the results list. You can also search using the "Cited References" tool on the tool bar.


American History & Life

Covers scholarly literature on the history and culture of Canada and the United States. If an article has been cited there will be a "cited references" under the article in the results list.  You can also search using "Cited References" on the tool bar.


Amazon Books

Some books will allow you to "search inside". When available this will allow you to search to see if a specific book has cited a specific source. 


Google Scholar

Google Scholar has a deep set of articles and books to mine for citations.


Historical Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature on European and World History from 1450-present. If an article has been cited there will be a "cited references" under the article in the results list.  You can also search using "Cited References" on the tool bar.


Humanities International Index

If an article has been cited there will be a "cited references" under the article in the results list.  You can also search using "Cited References" on the tool bar.


Web of Science

From an individual article links to citations will be to the right. 

Academic Search Premier

This is a multidisciplinary database covering 1984-present. If an article has been cited there will be "cited references" under the article in the results list. You can also search using the "Cited References" tool on the tool bar. 


Amazon Books

Some books will allow you to "search inside". When available this will allow you to search to see if a specific book has cited a specific source. 


Google

Using the Google "link" feature you can search to see who has linked TO a website. 


Google Scholar

Google Scholar covers all disciplines and includes "cited by".


ScienceDirect

While covering Elsevier journals only ScienceDirect is a deep source of information on the sciences and social sciences.  Citations, if any, are listed to the right of the article record. 


Web of Science

Web of Science's large database makes it an excellent source for citations.

 

 

 

 

Academic Search Premier

This is a multidisciplinary database covering 1984-present.  If an article has been cited there will be a "cited references" under the article in the results list.  You can also search using "Cited References" on the tool bar.


 

Astrophysics Data System (SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System)

Hosted by Harvard University, requires a personal account (no cost)


 

Amazon Books:  

Some books will allow you to "search inside". When available this will allow you to search to see if a specific book has cited a specific source. 


 

CiteSeerX 

Focuses on computer and information science.  Includes citations and self-citations.


 

Google Scholar  

Google Scholar covers all disciplines and includes "cited by".


 

IEEE Xplore

Limited to content published by IEEE. Links appear below the article record. 


 

MathSciNet

References is choice from any of the drop-down search terms. 


 

PubMed

From a specific article, if an article has been cited within the PubMed database the citations will be to the right..

 


 

ScienceDirect  

         While covering Elsevier journals only ScienceDirect is a deep source of information on the sciences and social sciences.

         Citations, if any, are listed to the right of article records. 

 


 

US Patent and Trademark Office

From an individual patent, use "referenced by".


 

Web of Science  

From an individual article links to citations will be to the right. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ABI/Inform Global

Covers both U.S. and international business publications. Cited references are noted under the individual article entries.


 

Business Source Complete

Scholarly business journals dating back to 1922.

 


 

Factiva (Formerly Dow Jones)

There is no direct citation searching but does support full-text searching including references (if available).  


 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar covers all disciplines and includes "cited by".


 

PsychINFO

Cited references are noted under the individual article entries.


 

ScienceDirect

While covering Elsevier journals only ScienceDirect is a deep source of information on the sciences and social sciences.  Citations, if any, are listed to the right of the article record. 


 

Sociological Abstracts

Cited references are noted under the individual article entries.


 

Web of Science

Web of Science's large database makes it an excellent source for citations.

 


 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Cited references are noted under the individual article entries.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar has a deep set of articles and books to mine for citations.


Web of Science  

From an individual article links to citations will be to the right. 

Loading

Definitions

Altmetrics: Altmetrics go beyond normal citation metrics to include alternative impact measures including downloads, views, blogs and, tweets.  Altmetrics expands the community of comment beyond the limits of bibliometrics. 

Article Influence: The Eigenfactor score divided by the number of articles published in journal.  "I know how impactful the journal as a whole is, but what about the average individual article in the journal?"

Article Level Metrics:  Impact measures at the article level, e.g. number of citations to a specific article.

Author Identities:  Codes that identify the works of an author as distinct from an author with the same or similar name.

Author Impact Factor: The impact of a specific author based on the number of citations over time.  h-index is an example of an author impact factor. 

Bibliometrics: in the context of impact factor, measures of citations at the journal and article level.

Cited Half-Life: "The cited half-life is the number of publication years from the current year which account for 50% of current citations received."  (Ladwig and Sommense)

g-index: Proposed by Egghe in 2006 to overcome a bias against highly cited papers inherent in the h-index. The g-index is the "highest number of papers of a scientist that received gg2 or more ciations" (Schreiber)

Google Scholar Metrics:  

Author Metrics: Google provides its own calculations for an author's h index, including a number of variations based on it's indexed content.

Journal Metrics: Lists top publications based on their "five-year h-index and h-median metrics." 

h-Index:  Proposed by J.E. Hirsch in 2005 the h-index is intended to serve as a proxy of the contribution of an individual researcher. The h index is calculated through a formula that considers the number of publications and the number of citations per publication. 

i10-index   Introduced by Google Scholar in 2011 the i10-index measures an authors publications with at least 10 citations. 

Immediacy Index: The average number of times a journal article is cited in its first year.  Used to compare journals publishing in emerging fields. 

Impact Factor: a measure of often a journal or specific author is cited. The intent is to assign a number as a proxy for the contribution of a publication or researcher to the field. 

ORCID: Open Researcher and Contributor ID, a researcher identification system not tied to a specific vendor. The ORCID is intended to disambiguate author/researcher names across publishers and across all areas of contribution.

ResearcherID: the author identification system supported by Thomson Reuters. 

Self-Citation: referencing one's own publications. There is nothing wrong with citing one's own research but is not considered as meaningful as citations by others. 

 

Many of these definitions are used with the kind permission of Robin Sinn and John Hopkins University or from the University of Michigan.