Skip to main content

Hesburgh Libraries

University of Notre Dame

Reference Online: Biographies | Geneaology

General

Biography and Genealogy Master Index.  

 

Biography in Context.

 

Biography Reference Bank  biographical database offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index


Biography Reference Center

This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
 

bio.  Over 7,000 biographies and daily features

 

Who's Who    

 

World Who's Who.

Biographies - By Geograhic Area

By Subject

Theology/Religion

  • Acta Sanctorum Database. Collection of texts on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century.
  • Cardinals of the Holy Roman Church. .Biographies of the 20th century cardinals and of the events and documents concerning the origin of the Roman cardinalate and its historic evolution.

Sciences


Arts & Humanities  

Literary Reference Center Plus
 A full-text database providing information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Literature Resource Center.
Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods. 

Oxford Art Online.

 

Oxford Music Online -


Political Science

 

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition    Searchable genealogical information on billions of names across thousands of census and related collections. 


Archives The website of the National Archives and Records Administration is very comprehensive. 
Learn more about Tracing Family History at the National Archives.

 

Biography and genealogy master index.  Indexes hundreds of biographical sources covering individuals, living and dead, from every field of activity worldwide.
 

BlackPast.org.  Provides reference materials on six centuries of African American history. Includes an online encyclopedia of hundreds of famous and lesser known figures in African America. 

 

Cindi's list of Geneaology Sites on the Web 

 

Family Search.   An important source for genealogy research maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

 

Genealogy Home Page. An all-in-one resource for genealogy topics.

 

Geneaology.com. Online resource for genealogy searches

 

Military Records.  U.S. National Archives. Military records can often provide valuable information on the veteran, as well as on all members of the family.
 

National Library of Ireland free online access to its archive of Catholic Church records.

 

World vital records Provides genealogy databases and family history networking tools.  Includes U.S. content, plus international data like the United Kingdom censuses, birth, marriage, and death records and the International Newspaper Collection, Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild, and more.

 

Passenger Arrival Records - National Park Service 

  • ellisisland.org An extensive free listing of manifests for ships that arrived in New York between 1892 and 1924-the years during which Ellis Island was America's primary immigrant processing center and where 12 million immigrants were processed. This web site was developed and is maintained by the American Family Immigration History Center located on Ellis Island.
  • stevemorse.org An extensive free listing of web sites and web pages useful for genealogical research.
  • cyndislist.com Another free site that has 270,000+ links for research on family histories.
  • slavevoyages.org The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages.
  • familysearch.org A service provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
  • gjenvick.com One of the largest collections of historical documents from the 1800s through 1954 with concentrations in Steamship and Ocean Liner documents and photographs, passenger lists, U.S. Navy Archives and additional materials covering World Wars I and II, the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and Immigration documents from Ellis Island, Castle Garden and other Immigration Stations.
  • germanroots.com A very helpful collection of sites with links and resources for doing German genealogical research.
  • jewishgen.org A website that features thousands of databases, research tools, and other resources to help those with Jewish ancestry find family members.
  • archives.gov The website of the National Archives and Records Administration is very comprehensive.Learn more about Tracing Family History at the National Archives.

                                                          

Caring for Your Treasures  American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artiistic Works. "Proper care and maintenance of your family heirlooms and works of art will ensure that they are available for future generations to enjoy."

 

Ask A Librarian