Skip to main content
History – China
Search this Guide
History – China: E-Periodicals
Resources for studying Chinese history and culture at the University of Notre Dame.
Women's Magazines from the Republican Period
This German, Canadian and Taiwanese funded project has digitized issues of four major women's magazines in Republican China.
Hong Kong Journals Online
A full-text image database that provides access to a selection of academic and professional journals, in both English and Chinese that were published in Hong Kong from 1872 on. Titles included cover a wide range of disciplines.
臺灣大學學術期刊資料庫 / National Taiwan University Journal Database
This is a full-text database of journal articles published by academic departments of the National Taiwan University from 2002 on.
中国期刊全文数据库 / China Academic Journals
This subscription based full-text Chinese journal database contains 9,800 journals published in China.
全國報刊索引 / Quan guo bao kan suo yin
Important subscription database that allows 50,000 periodicals and newspapers from China and foreign countries that relate to China to be accessed online.
申报 / Shen Bao
The first major newspaper in China, Shenbao operated from 1872 to 1949 and is an important primary resource for modern Chinese studies.
Old HK Newspapers
This is a selective collection of paper issues published in the territory from its early days to the present. It aims to preserve historical newspapers in Hong Kong for reference and research.
字林西報 / North China Daily News
The Center for Research Library has digitized its holdings of this English language newspaper, published in Shanghai from the late 19th to the early 20th centuries.
This important journal covers all aspects of contemporary China and Taiwan.
Interdisciplinary journal that publishes research on all aspects of the culture and civilization of China from the earliest times to the end of the Han dynasty (CE 220).
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
Published by the Harvard-Yenching Institute, the Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies disseminates outstanding research on China and East Asia and reviews scholarship on Chinese studies.
Journal of Asian Studies (JAS)
The journal of the Association for Asian Studies, JAS publishes state-of-the-field essays on established and emerging topics relating to China. It also has extensive book reviews.
Journal of Contemporary China
The most important multi-disciplinary journal on contemporary China.
Journal of Modern Chinese History
Published by Routledge and CASS, this journal seeks to provide a platform for Chinese and foreign Scholars on China to exchange ideas. It focuses on the 19th and 20th centuries.
Late Imperial China
The principal English language journal for Ming and Qing studies.
A leading historical and social sciences journal on late imperial, twentieth century and present day China.
Founded in 1890, T’oung Pao is the oldest journal on Sinology. It has long been the leading western language periodical on all aspects of traditional China.
A multi-disciplinary journal on the late Qing, Republican and PRC periods.
Major English language journal on studies of the Tang dynasty.
新史學 / New History
An important scholarly journal published in Taiwan.
考古人類學刊 / Journal of Archaeology and Anthropology
Published by the Department of Anthropology, National Taiwan University. Full-text articles can be accessed through the department's website.
文物 / Cultural Relics
Leading journal on Chinese archaeology and antiquities from China.
历史硏究 / Li shi yan jiu
The oldest and one of the most prominent journals on Chinese history from the PRC.
中国哲学史 / History of Chinese philosophy
Important journal on traditional Chinese philosophy.
宗敎学硏究 / Religious Studies
Publishes articles on various aspects of religion and philosophy in pre-modern China.
文艺理论研究 / Theoretical Studies of Literature and Art
Journal on traditional and modern Chinese literature published by the East China Normal University.
美朮研究 / Mei shu yan jiu
A journal on the history of art and calligraphy in China published by the Chinese Central Academy of Fine Arts.
电影艺朮 / Film Art
An important periodical on Chinese cinema.
中国音乐 / Chinese Music
Journal of the China Conservatory of Music.
明清小说研究 / The Journal of Ming-Qing Fiction Studies
A specialized journal on the study of Ming and Qing fiction.
Visual Materials >>
Nov 13, 2017 1:30 PM
Report a problem.
Need help? Ask us.
Ask Us Desk Online
Visit the Ask Us Desk
1st Floor, Hesburgh Library
Report a problem