Skip to main content

HESBURGH LIBRARIES  >  Library Guides

Career Resources — Overview

A guide to resources for exploring a range of careers

Career Resources

Vault Career Insider Insider reviews about companies - working conditions, the ups and downs, what the local community thinks. Career advice, interviewing tips, sample resumes and cover letters, job searching, blogs, and videos. Need to perform a one-time registration; use your nd.edu e-mail address when registering.
Candid Career Candid Career provides thousands of informational video interviews with real professionals through an easy to use website. Can get an insider's view of the job from an industry professional.
WetFeet Helpful articles about career planning and advice, job searching, resumes and cover letters, networking, and interviewing.Free, downloadable insider guides. Select 'Employers' from the top of the screen to find information about specific companies.
Glassdoor An inside look at jobs and companies. Search jobs from over 20,000 job sites, newspapers and company career pages.
ReferenceUSA Find U.S. and Canadian company locations and contact information. Create a list of companies by annual sales, number of employees, specific states and cities, and more.

Industry & Market Research

IBISWorld Recent comprehensive industry market research reports searchable by keyword or SIC/NAICS codes. Consistent format with nine tabs containing information about Industry Performance, Industry Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, and more. Reports are downloadable into PDF format.
MarketResearch.com Academic Provides thousands of full-text market research reports, many with global coverage, from these industry-leading publishers: Packaged Facts, Kalorama Information, MarketLooks, Specialists in Business Information (SBI), Paul Budde Communication. Includes topics like business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, life sciences, demographics, and technology/media. Reports are downloadable into PDF format.
Mintel Oxygen Reports combine data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Report sections are downloadable into PDF, Word, and Excel.
Passport Coverage includes information on 205 countries, their consumers and markets, with extended data and analysis for 80 countries. Identify and compare statistics/reports for demographic, business strategy, market, conumer, industry, and company research. Can identify information such as market size, company shares, brand shares, and consumer profiles. Results are downloadable into PDF and Excel.