Provides citations on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971 in western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (through 1991 only), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. Updated regularly.
Although the Hesburgh Libraries do not currently subscribe to journal and dissertation/theses databases of China and Taiwan such as NSSD - National Social Sciences Database (China Academy of Social Sciences), and 中文電子期刊服務 (CEPS) (Airiti Library), you can search the indexes of these databases through OneSearch. Look for the REQUEST VIA ILL tab in the citation (record) to submit your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request.
ND users can access more than 5,000 journals in Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy), G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law), H (Education and Social Science), and J (Economics and management)--published since 1915.
Use the 期刊 tab to search journals. Some articles are available for Download 文章下载 or Document Delivery via Email 邮箱接收全文 (link in the right-hand column). Contact the East Asian Studies Librarian about articles that are not delivered or that are delivered but cannot be accessed.
A list of Chinese-language journals the Hesburgh Libraries subscribe to. Most of these journals are not available or partially available via China academic journals fulltext database or Duxiu （期刊）. Each blog post represents a journal title, and is linked to the ND Catalog record.
Find resources available through the Hesburgh Libraries, and its partner libraries (Kresge Law, Saint Mary's, Bethel, and Holy Cross). Searchable in Chinese in ALA-LC romanization. If you are not familiar with the ALA-LC romanization rules, search in Chinese in WorldCat, copy the title and author information in romanization, and search again in the ND Catalog.
Use the 学位论文 tab to search Chinese dissertations and theses. Some dissertations and theses are available for Download 文章下载 or Document Delivery via Email 邮箱接收全文 (link in the right-hand column). Contact the East Asian Studies Librarian about dissertations and theses that are not delivered or that are delivered but cannot be accessed.
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.
Articles, books, and videos recommended by Notre Dame faculty for students researching China.
- Volume 1. The Ch'in and Han Empires, 221 BC–AD 220
- Volume 3. Sui and T'ang China, 589–906 AD, Part 1
- Volume 5. The Sung Dynasty and its Precursors, 907–1279, Part 1, Part 2
- Volume 6. Alien Regimes and Border States, 907–1368
- Volume 7. The Ming Dynasty, 1368–1644, Part 1
- Volume 8. The Ming Dynasty, 1368–1644, Part 2
- Volume 9. The Ch'ing Empire to 1800 Part 1
- Volume 10. Late Ch'ing 1800–1911, Part 1
- Volume 11. Late Ch'ing, 1800–1911, Part 2
- Volume 12. Republican China, 1912–1949, Part 1
- Volume 13. Republican China 1912–1949, Part 2
- Volume 14. The People's Republic, Part 1, The Emergence of Revolutionary China, 1949–1965
- Volume 15. The People's Republic, Part 2, Revolutions within the Chinese Revolution, 1966–1982