Skip to main content

GE 30305 — Contemporary Germany

Overview

This guide provides an introduction to resources related to modern German society, politics, and culture. For a more comprehensive research guide pertaining to language and literature, use the German Language and Literature Research Guide. For history resources , use the History: Western Europe: Germany and Austria Guide.

Guide updated: 15 February 2019

Notre Dame Library Resources

MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1926.

JSTOR
Digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

IBZ (Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur)
International and interdisciplinary reference work documenting academic periodical literature in the humanities, social sciences and related fields. The bibliography focuses on German and international periodicals of the humanities and social sciences.

OneSearch
ND Catalog plus articles, datasets, and more.

ND Catalog
Search for print and electronic books, journals, and databases.

WorldCat
World’s most comprehensive database of information about library collections. Includes books, print journals, DVDs, historic photos, video games, musical scores, newspapers, webpages and many other standard items. It also includes unique items.

Kresge Law Library Catalog
Kresge Law Library is located in Biolchini Hall of Law on campus. The law library is a separate entity from Hesburgh Libraries. Non-law students at Notre Dame may check materials out from the law library, but most go to the law library to do so.