Library Guides: East Asian Studies Databases & eJournals: Directory

About

A directory of online resources the Hesburgh Libraries subscribe to:

Databases

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries a database of digitized versions of approximately 700,000 books, published in China from 1900 to 2014. The Hesburgh Libraries provide full-text access to approximately 220,000 volumes in seven categories: Art, History & Geography, Languages & Linguistics, Literature, Military Science, Philosophy & Religion, and Political Science & Law. To expand your search to all titles in the Chinamaxx database, check "Trial to ChinaMaxx" next to the search box.
读秀 : 图书 = Duxiu : Books You can preview up to 20 pages of a book, and request an email delivery of up to 20% of the book (approximately, 50 pages).
读秀 : 学位论文 = Duxiu : Theses & Dissertations Use the 学位论文 tab to search Chinese dissertations and theses. Some dissertations and theses are available for Download 文章下载 or Document Delivery via Email 邮箱接收全文 (link in the right-hand column). Contact the East Asian Studies Librarian about dissertations and theses that are not delivered or that are delivered but cannot be accessed.
读秀 : 期刊 = Duxiu : Journal Articles Use the 期刊 tab to search Chinese journal articles. Some articles are available for Download 文章下载 or Document Delivery via Email 邮箱接收全文 (link in the right-hand column). Contact the East Asian Studies Librarian about dissertations and theses that are not delivered or that are delivered but cannot be accessed.
[CNKI] China academic journals full-text database ND users can access more than 5,000 journals in Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy), G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law), H (Education and Social Science), and J (Economics and management)--published since 1915.
[CNKI] China Yearbooks Full-text Database This database is a type of chronicle almanac which records facts, statistics, activities, and events. Through yearbook, you can learn about a country, a specific industry or field, or a particular region from every aspect such as politics, economy, science and technology, culture and education. It is an indispensable reference work co-developed by China Academic Journals Electronic Publishing House and Tongfang Knowledge Network Techonology Co., that covers authoritative data, literature, intelligence and informative resources for research.
[CNKI] China core newspapers full-text database Full-text newspaper articles from 1000 publicly issued newspapers in mainland China since 2000; issued in 10 subject databases: mathematics/physics/mechanics/astronomy, chemistry/metallurgy/environment/mine industry, architecture/energy/traffic/electromechanics, agriculture, medicine & public health, literature/history/philosophy, politics/military affairs/law, education & social sciences, electronic technology & information science, economics & management.
环球时报图文数据库 = The Global Times (1993-present) A daily newspaper produced under the auspices of the People's Daily. It is the Communist Party’s official mouthpiece that focuses on international issues and foreign affairs.
人民日报图文数据库 = The People's Daily (1946-present) An official newspaper of the Communist Party of China, through which the Party and the Central Government announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.

*Access to 人民日报图文数据库 and 环球时报图文数据库 is limited to 2 simultaneous users.

PKU Law (English) This link opens in a new window Online database of laws, regulations, and cases from the People's Republic of China. Jointly launched by Peking University and Chinalawinfo Co., Ltd., the Chinalawinfo Pkulaw Database comprises several sub-databases. Their flagship service, the Laws & Regulations database, is supplemented by extensive databases for Judicial Cases, Legal News and other legal materials. The database currently provides more than 100 million data, covering all aspects of China's legal information. The English Translation provides information in both Chinese and English. It comprises eight sub-databases: Legal News, Laws & Regulations, Judicial Cases, Law Journals, International Treaties, White Papers, Legal Glossary, and Guides to World Law.

中国数据在线 = China data online Online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
申报 = Shanghai News (1872-1949) The Shen Bao Digital Archive includes a complete run of this newspaper--256,000 issues. It is full-text searchable, and contains scanned images of original newspaper pages.
中国连环画数字图书馆 = Chinese picture story books digital library A digital library of more than 4,000 Chinese picture books (连环画), accompanied with approximately 700 audio files in Mandarin Chinese (approximately 500 books), Uyghur (100 books), and Kazakh (50 books). Browseable by categories: Classic Novels; Mythology; Idiom Stories; Red Classics; Juvenile Literature; Martial Arts Novels; Contemporary Chinese Literature; Foreign Literature, etc. Included in the collection is the picture book series (连环画报), published, since 1951, by the People's Fine Arts Publishing House. Also included is a reference source, Lianhuanhua baike (连环画百科 = Chinese picture book encyclopedia), which provides brief introductory articles about the Chinese picture book history, tradition, theories, techniques, and also a biographical dictionary of famous picture book artists.
漢達文庫 = CHANT (CHinese ANcient Texts) Database of early Chinese texts from the pre-Qin period to the Northern and Southern Dynasties. A. 甲骨文 -- B. 竹簡帛書 -- C. 金文 --D. 先秦兩漢 -- E. 魏晉南北朝 -- F. 類書.
文淵閣四庫全書 Wen yuan ge Si ku quan shu One simultaneous user Features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4.7 million pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc. The full-text database of all included 36,000 volumes is fully searchable. A one-time download of the Siku Quanshu program is required.
more...less...
A one-time download of the Siku Quanshu program is required.
[愛如生] 中國基本古籍庫 = Database of Chinese classic ancient books One simultaneous user A full-text searchable database of 10,000 (12,500 editions) Chinese texts, from the pre-Qin Period to the Republican Period, that covers art, economics, history, literature, science, philosophy, military studies, etc. Four major sections, broken into multiple subcategories: Philosophy and Science (哲科--思想，宗教，政治，军事，科技，医学), History and Geography (史地--历史, 地理), Art and Literature (艺文--文学，艺术), and General Works (综合--体育，生活，术数，其他).
more...less...
1. Select "Ancient Classics."
2. Click "Login."
3. Click the first title, "中國基本古籍庫."
4. Remember to log out when finished. The X(退出) at the top right does not work. (a) Click the home icon (返回); (b) Click the 爱如生 Erudition banner (top left); (c) Click "Exit" (under login).
中央硏究院漢籍電子文獻 = Scripta Sinica Full-text databases, developed by Academia Sinica in Taiwan. Included are the Twenty-five Histories, Thirteen Classics, Essays of Statecrafts in Qing Period, Taiwan Documents and Local Gazetteers, Chinese novels and dramas, as well as Buddhist and Taoist texts and other ancient and modern texts. *Click 授權使用 to access the full content available for ND users.
中國哲學書電子化計劃 = Chinese text project Various Chinese texts of philosophical, historical, or linguistic interest from the pre-Qin era through to the Han dynasty and beyond. English and modern Chinese translations are provided when copyright allows.
電子佛教辭典 = Digital Dictionary of Buddhism A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/dictionary/encyclopedia/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character.
National index to Chinese newspapers & periodicals full-text database 5 simultaneous users Provides copies of the original pages from magazines and newspapers published in the Early Qing and Republican Period (1833-1949).

The Hesburgh Libraries subscribe to:

晚清期刊全文数据库 (1833-1911) = Late Qing dynasty periodical full-text database (1833-1911)
民国时期期刊全文数据库(1911-1949) = Chinese periodical full-text database (1911-1949)
字林洋行中英文报纸全文数据库 (1850-1951) = North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists
《小报》= The Tabloids (1897-1949)
《民国日报》= The Republican Daily News (1916-1947)
《中央日报》= Central Daily News (1928-1949): 重庆 ; 中央日报扫荡报联合版
《益世报》= Yi Shih Pao (1915-1949): 天津 ; 上海 ; 昆明 ; 西北 ; 重庆
《大公报》= Ta Kung Pao (1902-1949): 大公报临时晚刊 (1937) ; 汉口 ; 重庆 ; 天津 ; 上海 ; 桂林 ; 香港
《時報》 = Eastern times (1904-1939)
《新聞報》 = Sin Wan Pao (1893-1949)

English Newspapers

The Shanghai Times =《上海泰晤士报》 (1925-1943)
The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury =《大美晚报》 (1929-1949)
The Shanghai Evening Courier =《上海晚邮》(1869-1874)
Shanghai Courier & China Gazette = 《中华快报》 (1876-1878)
Shanghai Courier = 《上海差报》(1878-1884)
The China press = 《大陸報》 (1911-1949)

JapanKnowledge : encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases 6 simultaneous users, shared with 6 institutions - dictionaries (Japanese, English-Japanese, Japanese-English and English-English) - 日本大百科全書 Nihon daihyakka zensho = Nipponica (30-volume encyclopedia) - イミダス Imidas and 現代用語の基礎知識 Gendai yōgo no kiso chishiki (dictionaries of current words) - 科学技術略語辞典 Kagaku gijutsu ryakugo jiten (a dictionary of scientific terms) - 日本人名大事典 Nihon jinmei daijiten (a biographical dictionary) - The JK Who's Who - The Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (a news database (NNA) that covers Asia and the European Union) - 週刋エコノミスト Shūkan ekonomisuto (a full-text journal) - 江戶東京重ね地図 Edo-Tōkyō kasane chizu (map) - The Tōyō bunko series - chronologies (world history, Japan by period, Japan by prefecture, science, culture, society, daily life, social movements, economics and for individuals) - a database of video (TV, news) recordings from 1908 to 2005 - database of dissertations from the humanities departments of six universities in Japan - etc.
Kenkyusha Online Dictionary KOD 5 simultaneous users A comprehensive database which allows a cross-search among 18 Japanese-English/English-Japanese dictionaries and encyclopedias published by Kenkyusha and Sanseido. Subjects covered are common Japanese and English words and phrases, spelling, medicine, physics, business, computer/Internet, etc.
Kikuzō II bijuaru : Asahi shinbun kiji dētabēsu = 聞蔵IIビジュアル : 朝日新聞記事データべース 1 simultaneous user A newspaper database for Asahi shinbun published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera and Shūkan Asahi, from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Aashi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.

Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new window Provides citations on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971 in western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (through 1991 only), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. Updated regularly.

Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange A collection of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) that provides a selection of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries (China, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, etc.) during the nineteenth century. Also, included are missionary correspondence and journals.
China: Trade, Politics & Culture (1793-1980) With manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, students are given an insight into the changes wrought upon China during this period.
more...less...
Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service – from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze – are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War and glimpses of life in China from the collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family. There are also significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals: The Chinese Recorder; Light and Life Magazine; The Land of Sinim: the North China Mission Quarterly Paper. In addition, 400 colour paintings, maps and drawings by English and Chinese artists provide a rich visual seam to the collection. Photographs, sketches and ephemeral items depicting Chinese people, places, customs and events, and providing a striking visual accompaniment to the documentary images.

Church Missionary Society periodicals. Module 1 This link opens in a new window This resource encompasses publications from the from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS). Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and world events.

*To search the entire portfolio of the Adam Matthew Digital collections (including China: Trade, Politics & Culture (1793-1980) and Church Missionary Society Periodicals), use AM explorer, Adam Matthew's new federated search platform.

Foreign Office files for China, 1919-1980. This link opens in a new window This digital collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Allows access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and much more.

Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound
- Evangelism in China: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1837 to 1911
- Evangelism in Japan: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1859 to 1911
- Papers of Old Shanghai: Business, Banking, and Insurance
- Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
The Japan Times Archives (1897-2014)
The Japan Times is the most widely read English language newspaper in Japan that provides articles originally written in English based on independent reporting (versus translations from Japanese articles). The Japan Times Archives provides digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times, published in 1897-2014. Articles published since 2015 can be accessed on the Japan Times website.
The Japan Times (2015-) The most widely read English language newspaper in Japan that provides articles originally written in English based on independent reporting (versus translations from Japanese articles). Articles published before 2015 can be accessed on the Japan Times Archives (1897-2014).

Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Subjects include Anthropology; Buddhism; Chinese Studies; Cinema and Media Studies; Environmental Science; International Relations; Philosophy; Political Science ; Sociology

Oxford Reference Library
Brings together digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History
- The International Studies Encyclopedia
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Empirical International Relations Theory
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Foreign Policy Analysis
- The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
Brill’s Encyclopedia of China
Based on the originally a thousand-page reference work on China with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century.
more...less...
"All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines. Originally published and warmly received in German (edited by the GIGA Institute of Asian Studies in Hamburg, published by WBG, Darmstadt, 2003), this English translation, including a statistical data update, will serve both English-language students and faculty in conveniently providing a wealth of reliable and solid information on China. With illustrations, maps, tables, ample indices and bibliographies."

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CRL Digital Collections CRL holdings (documents, newspapers, books, and journals) that have been digitized in response to member　libraries’ requests for loan. Included are some Chinese, Japanese, and Korean publications. Accessible to ND users.

Factiva This link opens in a new window Successor to Dow Jones News Service, Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users. Access info: Historically Factiva only worked with IE version 5 or higher. Since then, several other browser options have been added.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new window "Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary."--Product description.

HathiTrust Digital Library A digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, and includes about two million volumes in the public domain that may be viewed online. Public domain titles are also searchable in the ND Catalog. Notre Dame students, faculty and staff can download them as complete ebooks in pdf.
more...less...
- Chinese language titles in HathiTrust
- Japanese language titles in HathiTrust
- Korean language titles in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust FAQ for Notre Dame users: How do I download an ebook?

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni delivers unmatched depth and quality when it comes to content. With more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

NewsBank | Access World News From more than 12,000 U.S. and international news sources. Ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

World news connection This link opens in a new window Provides English translations of news sources prepared by the U.S. government from around the world. Successor to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).

Kanopy
On-demand, revolving streaming video for selected documentaries and theatrical releases. Click "Log into Notredame." Search in Chinese, Japanese or Korean is not supported. To browse by language, click "Browse>>Global Studies & Languages>>Asian Studies."
World Cinema Video Collection
Provides access to online streaming titles from Africa, North and South America, Southeast Asia, Europe, and the Middle East. Search in Chinese, Japanese or Korean is not supported. To browse materials in the language of your interest, go to Advanced Search and use the language filter.

*Open Access Collections

Chinese Women's Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republican Period (WoMag) A database of a research project that examines four influential Chinese women’s magazines published in Shanghai between 1904-1937. Provides research materials, including the images of the original issues of the magazines.

Early Chinese Periodicals Online (ECPO) This link opens in a new window This database is a joint project by the Heidelberg Digital Humanities Unit, the Heidelberg Research Architecture (HRA), Taiwan’s Academia Sinica, and the University of Washington. It provides a single platform where one can search and view the resources from WoMag, Xiaobao, and the Funü zazhi . Its content includes image scans, advertising inserts, and illustrations. Its bilingual metadata (keywords and biographical information on editors, authors and individuals represented in illustrations and advertisements) makes the content accessible to non-Chinese speaking scholars.

Ming Qing women's writings (明清婦女著作 Ming Qing fu nü zhu zuo) "The Ming Qing Women's Writings (MQWW) project developed the MQWW Microsoft Access database to offer a convenient method to access the metadata of the Ming Qing Women's Writings database to researchers interested in data analysis. Microsoft Access is a widely used database system for PC users. It is also a good bridge to other digital humanities tools such as ArcGIS and SPSS. For more information about Microsoft Access, please click here. The current Access file has been tested on Microsoft Access 2007, Microsoft Access 2010, and Microsoft Access 2013. It contains the complete data of all the collections, poems, and poets in the Ming Qing Women’s Writings database. To use the MQWW Access database, you need to download the MQWW Access file from our website then open the file on a computer that has installed Microsoft Access. Please click here to download the MQWW Microsoft Access file. December 2019"
[CRL/EastView] Late Qing and Republican-era Chinese Newspapers Collection
Browse by title
Old HK Newspapers A collection of fourteen historical Hong Kong newspapers which the Hong Kong Public Libraries have digitized and made freely available: 香港工商日报 (Chinese) (1926/04/01 - 1984/11/30); 香港工商晚报 (Chinese) (1930/11/16 - 1984/11/29); 华侨日报 (Chinese) (1947/05/01 - 1991/12/31); 香港华字日报 (Chinese) (1895/01/31 - 1940/12/31); 香港华字晚报 (Chinese) (1937/01/28 - 1938/01/27); 大公报 (Chinese) (1938/08/13 - 1991/12/31); 天光报 (Chinese) (1933/02/07 - 1940/11/30); 遐迩贯珍 (Chinese) (1853/08 - 1856/05); 循环日报 (Chinese) (1874/05/16 - 1886/01/30); China Mail (1866/01/04 – 1961/12/29); Hong Kong Daily Press (1864/01/04 - 1941/09/30); Hong Kong Sunday Herald (1929/01/06 - 1950/10/29); Hong Kong Telegraph (1881/06/16 - 1951/03/30); Hong Kong Weekly Press (1895/01/03 - 1909/12/24)
Contemporary Chinese Village Gazetteer Data (CCVG Data) 数字村庄 A University of Pittsburgh Library project that collects and makes avaialble data from Chinese village gazetteers. The data coverage period is 1949 to the present, though the final year of coverage for each village varies. There are 18 datasets included in CCVG Data: Gazetteer Information; Village Information; Natural Environment; Natural Disasters; Year of First Availability; Last Names; Ethnic Groups; Population and Migration; Military, Politics and Management; Economy; Family Planning; Education. All are available for free download. For user’s convenience, CCVG Data is bilingual (Chinese/English).
Cultures Visuelles en Asie Orientale = Visual Cultures in East Asia A catalog of historical Chinese films, provided by Institute of Asian Studies (IrAsia). For most films, information includes plot summary in English. Many films are in the public domain and accessible through the site.
[YoutTube] Chinese Film Classics English-subtitled versions of early Chinese films, made available by Professor Christopher Rea at the University of British Columbia
Chinese Posters: Propaganda, Politics, History, Art A database of Chinese posters from the collections of Professor Stefan Landsberger, the International Institute of Social History (IISH, Amsterdam, Netherlands), and anonymous private collectors.
Enemy of the People: Visual Representations of Chiang Kai-shek The site includes visual depictions of Chiang Kai-shek from various forms of propaganda and other art from the 1940s through to the 2000s, with particular concentration on negative images of Chiang. The project is led by Dr Jeremy Taylor at the Department of History, University of Nottingham. It is funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council and was developed by the Humanities Research Institute at the University of Sheffield.

Ejournals

The Hesburgh Libraries provide two online platforms where you can bookmark and browse journals:

BrowZine is visually attractive, but it is not linked to all the titles that the Libraries subscribe to. Ejournal Locator is linked to FindText, which will display the multiple providers for a journal on one page, and also link to the information about the issues available in print format. For example,