Skip to main content

ENGL 20616 — Dystopias (Jimenez-Moreno)

Instructor & Course Description

Course Instructor
Photograph of the instructor

Ana Jimenez-Moreno
Instructor
ajimene1@nd.edu

Dystopias: Recent Perspectives on the Family in Literature and Visual Media will focus on how the family emerged from the apocalypse of the World Wars and the post-war era. We will particularly pay attention to how real and imagined dystopian worlds envision the family. In this course, we will be looking at American, English, Irish and Scottish literature, film, television and documentaries in order to explore this change. From terrible mothers in D.H. Lawrence’s Sons and Lovers to incestuous fathers in Sunset Song, from the godless society of Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World to the God-infused prose of Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh, from childbearing vessels in Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale to the massacre of children in the dystopian world of Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games, we will examine how 20th- and 21st-century fears of the future play out on family dynamics. If, for instance, the parental unit breaks down, who comes in to fulfill that role? How do these dysfunctional relationships reflect the author’s criticism of her or his society? What can the ‘literary’ do that other forms of communication cannot and vice versa?

Resources: This guide assists users to identify and locate scholarly information about the family in literature and media since early 20th century.

  • Academic search premier (EBSCO)
    Coverage: 1975-
    "multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles."--Provider description.
  • Google Scholar
    Coverage: IMPORTANT. Use the FindText@Notre Dame link _under_ the citation, _not_ the one to the right, which often doesn't link to resources ND has licensed.

    Google Scholar is Google's new search engine that focuses on academic content. Google Scholar indexes peer reviewed articles, abstracts, books, theses,

    JSTOR Offers interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching in such areas as humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

  • Sociological Abstracts [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff) Abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, book Coverage: 1952-present
  • America: History and Life [EBSCO] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Search can
    Coverage: 1910-
  • MLA International Bibliography [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    The MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures provides citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations MLAIB does not index book reviews.
    Coverage: 1925-
  • Project Muse (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Searchable collection of over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences.  
  • Academic search premier (EBSCO)
    "multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles."--Provider description. Coverage: 1975-
  • Web of Science Core Collection [Web of Science]  Thanks to strong support from faculty members from many different disciplines, financial contributions from the Graduate School and the Provost's Office, the Libraries have subscribed to ISI Web of Science! The three Web of Science indexes, premier tools for advanced research, include Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. We have a license for 15 concurrent users, so there may be times when you may find that all ports are in use. Be careful to 'Logout' when finished to free up access for colleagues.
  • WorldCat
    A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the
  • Ethnic Newswatch [ProQuest] 
    Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.
    Coverage: 1959-
  • Concise Oxford companion to American literature
  • Concise Oxford companion to Irish literature
  • Concise Oxford companion to the English language
  • Concise Oxford dictionary of English etymology
  • Oxford handbooks online. Literature.
    Includes essays on most aspects of poetry, prose, verse, and drama in English, and includes work on Film Studies. Its chronological range extends from
  • Humanities international index (EBSCO)
    Coverage: As far back as 1929 to the present
    "...provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals ... includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the
  • Humanities international index (EBSCO)
    Coverage: As far back as 1929 to the present
    "...provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals ... includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the
  • Orlando
    Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers,
  • Oxford bibliographies online. American literature
    Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on American literature and the American literary tradition over the past 500 years. Includes perspectives
  • Oxford bibliographies online. British and Irish literature
    Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on British and Irish literature, including perspectives from such fields as history, cultural studies, political
  • Twentieth century literary criticism (see Literature resource center) 
    Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods; draws on Gale Group's Contemporary Authors, Contemporary
  • Twentieth century North American drama
    Contains more than 1,500 full-text plays by more than 200 playwrights. Includes selected playbills, production photographs, information on related productions,

Center for Digital Scholarship Sound Studio

One Button Studio  (Audio and Video)

Remix Digital Resource Portal

Undergraduate Library Research Award (ULRA)

Loading ...

Tutorial(s)

"MLA In-Text Citations (Step-by-Step Guide)." YouTube. YouTube, March 24, 2014. Web. 15 Feb. 2016. <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTaUHS1mnvw>.

Loading ...

Etc.

Hesburgh Library, General Collection  PN 147 .G444 2008

Hesburgh Library Reference, Reference Desk  PN 147 .G444 2008 [In-Library Use Only]

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide

EasyBib http://www.easybib.com/cite/view

Loading ...