Skip to main content

CSEM — Constructing a Good, Sustainable Life (Narvaez)

Course Description

“Running Water” By Julia Elizabeth Tolbert C 1947

"What is a good life, one that is sustainable and wise? Students explore this issue and test out what they think and how they will live. Students will practice approaches from positive psychology and character development research. The class will test factors found to lead to greater flourishing (e.g., mindfulness, emotional intelligence, play, gratitude). Readings also will be drawn from anthropology, indigenous scholarship, literature, philosophy and Catholic social teaching. Field trips will include outdoor experiences (Fernwood Botanical Garden, Farmer’s Market) and experiencing the arts (Snite Museum, concerts, film). Students will choose a self-development goal for the semester. Students will give different types of oral presentations and create an interdisciplinary final project." One of the Humanity, Identity, Education, Knowledge courses, Spring 2017. Professor Darcia Narvaez.

Fake News Class: goals

Students can:

  • fact-check a source
  • identify sponsored content on a website
  • perform a reverse image search
  • find a scholarly article on the topic of "fake news"
  • articulate strategies used to evaluate a particular claim

Class Requirements: Readings & Other Activities

 (CC BY 3.0)  Chomsky, N. (2017). Manufacturing Consent. [YouTube]. 5 Filters. Cartoon narrated by Amy Goodman;  Designed and animated by Pierangelo Pirak. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/34LGPIXvU5M

Noam Chomsky The 5 Filters of the Mass Media Machine

Published on Mar 2, 2017

According to American linguist and political activist, Noam Chomsky, media operate through 5 filters: ownership, advertising, the media elite, flak and the common enemy.

Follow #MediaTheorised, an online project by Al Jazeera English’s media analysis show The Listening Post
Narrated by Amy Goodman, Executive Producer of Democracy Now!
Designed and animated by Pierangelo Pirak


Rosenmann, A. (2017, 4 March). You'll never think about mass media the same way again after watching this Noam Chomsky documentary. Retrieved from http://www.alternet.org/media/youll-never-think-about-mass-media-same-way-again-after-watching-noam-chomsky-documentary?akid=15265.134178.OtzA_j&rd=1&src=newsletter1073301&t=21


Pot of Gold Tutorial. Evaluating

Library Resources

U.S. government information and background:

News databases:

Subject databases:

  • PsycINFO (ProQuest)
    Coverage: 1806-
    Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects
  • Sociological abstracts (ProQuest)
    Coverage: 1952-
    Abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, book

Authors' and journals' impact:

Another Hesburgh Library (Research) LibGuide: WR 13100 / 13200 / 13300 — Writing and Rhetoric: Misinformation and Fake News

Supplemental Readings

Baker, F. W. (2009). Political campaigns and political advertising : a media literacy guide. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood Press.

Caulfield, M. (2017). Web literacy for student fact-checkers. Retrieved from https://webliteracy.pressbooks.com/

Caulfield, M. (2016, 19 December). Yes, digital literacy. But which one? Retrieved from https://hapgood.us/2016/12/19/yes-digital-literacy-but-which-one/

Daily Dot "is a digital media company covering Internet culture and life on the web. Founded by Nicholas White in 2011. Self-dubbed the "hometown newspaper" of the Internet,[4] the Daily Dot posts roughly 50-70 articles per day. It features an array of sections dedicated to Internet-specific issues ranging from the intersection of the state and the web to "Geek", which focuses on Internet-based fandom." Wikipedia.

Journalist's Resource "examines news topics through a research lens. We surface scholarship relevant to media practitioners, bloggers, educators, students and general readers." Based at Harvard's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy.

Koltay, T. (2011, 23 March). The media and the literacies: media literacy, information literacy, digital literacy. Media, Culture & Society, 33(2), 211–221. http://journals.sagepub.com.proxy.library.nd.edu/doi/abs/10.1177/0163443710393382

Stanford History Education Group (SHEG). (2016, November). Executive summary. Evaluating information: The Cornerstone of civic online reasoning. Retrieved from  https://sheg.stanford.edu/upload/V3LessonPlans/Executive%20Summary%2011.21.16.pdf

 
 

 

Upcoming

University of Michigan Teach-Outs. Fake News, Facts, and Alternative Facts. Begins 21 April 2017. Free but registration is required.