Library Guides: Film, Television and Theatre: Theatre: Articles, reviews, streaming ...

Streaming Databases

Audio drama : L.A. Theatre Works collection This link opens in a new window
300+ works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the L.A. Theatre Works radio company.

Theatre and Drama Premium

Includes 750 hours of filmed stage performances, documentaries, and video training materials; 300 audio plays, and 13,500 full-text plays, along with contextualizing materials such as designs.

Theatre in video This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 hours of performances of the world's leading plays. Also includes interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors.

Reviews

Databases

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 350 national and international newspapers. Earliest coverage is from the 1970s; includes today's papers. Text-only; no illustrations.

London Theatre Guide
Lists current West End productions, along with reviews and news.

New York times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Coverage begins in 1851 and continues up to the most recent three years. Newer content is available in LexisNexis Academic (above), but lacks illustrations.
Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (London) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the Times of London, 1785-1985. "Advanced Search" can be limited to Reviews.

Historical Print Sources

Selected Theatre Criticism, 1900-1950 by Anthony Slide
Call Number: Reference Collection - PN 2277 .N5 S44 1985
ISBN: 0810818116
Publication Date: 1996
Complete reprints of reviews of New York stage productions for the first half of the 20th century contained in three volumes.
New York Times Theatre Reviews 1870-2000
Call Number: Reference Collection - PN 1581 .N41

Articles on Theatre

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included.

International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text This link opens in a new window
Over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. More than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
MLA international bibliography (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on literature, with good coverage of the dramatic arts.
Performing arts periodicals database (formerly International index to the performing arts IIPA full text) This link opens in a new window
Covers film, television, and theatre, along with related fields such as stagecraft and musical theater. Coverage is current, and also includes some early content as far back as 1864.

News and Popular Press

Newspapers Library Guide
Extensive guide to newspaper research options at the Hesburgh Libraries.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from thousands of U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and global issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Internet Broadway Database
Provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theater until today.
London Theatre Guide
Lists current West End productions, along with reviews and news.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 350 national and international newspapers. Earliest coverage is from the 1970s; includes today's papers. Text-only; no illustrations.

Playbill
Information about current Broadway productions, including grosses provided by the Broadway League in the Playbill Vault.

Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Archive of multiple major newspapers from across the United States, with some international titles included

General Reference Resources

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
"Performing Arts" link includes numerous relevant titles, such as Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance.
Play index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index to more than 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present; includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information.

Theatre and Drama Premium