Skip to main content

Travels in Ireland — A Guide and Bibliography

A bibliography of accounts of travels in Ireland from the seventeenth to the nineteenth centuries.

Collected Works

Early Traveller Accounts

Le Gouz de La Boullaye, François.  The tour of the French traveller M. de La Boullaye Le Gouz in Ireland, A.D. 1644 / edited by T. Crofton Croker. With notes, and illustrative extracts, contributed by James Roche, Francis Mahony, Thomas Wright, and the editor.
London: 1837.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 970 .L54 1837
Online: HathiTrust

Penn, William.  My Irish journal, 1669-1670
London,   New York,   Longmans, Green   [1952]
Hesburgh BX 7617 .P38 A3

Dingley, Thomas. Extracts from the journal of Thomas Dineley, Esquire, giving some account of his vist to Ireland in the reign of Charles II / edited by Evelyn Philip Shirley and J. P. Prendergast.
The Journal of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society, New Series, Vol. 1, No. 1 (1856), pp. 143-146, 170-188 and Vol. 6, No. 1 (1867), pp. 73-91, 176-204

Rycaut, Paul.  Sir Paul Rycaut's memoranda and letters from Ireland, 1686-1687 /ed. Patrick Melvin.  Analecta Hibernica no. 27 (1972), pp. 124-82. 

Stevens, John The journal of John Stevens containing a brief account of the war in Ireland, 1689-1691
Oxford: Clarendon Press
Online: HathiTrust: and Internet Archive.

Davies, Rowland. Journal of the Very Rev. Rowland Davies, LL.D., Dean of Ross, (and afterwards Dean of Cork,) from March 8, 1688-9, to September 29, 1690. Ed., with notes, and an appendix, and some account of the author and his family, by Richard Caulfield.  [London]   Printed for the Camden Society,   1857.
Hesburgh DA 20 .C144p v.68

Young, Robert Magill, ed.  Historical notices of old Belfast and its vicinity; a selection from the mss. collected by William Pinkerton, F.S.A., for his intended history of Belfast, additional documents, letters, and ballads, O'Mellan's narrative of the wars of 1641, biography of Mary Ann M'Cracken, now first printed ... ed., with notes, by Robert M. Young Belfast,   M. Ward & Co., Limited; [etc., etc.]   1896.
Hesburgh DA 995 .B5 Y8

Markham, Sarah.  John Loveday of Caversham, 1711-1789 : the life and tours of an eighteenth-century onlooker / Sarah Markham.
Wilton, Salisbury, Wiltshire :   M. Russell,  1984.
Hesburgh  DA 620 .M39 1984

Pococke, Richard. Pococke's tour in Ireland in 1752; edited, with an introduction and notes by George T. Stokes.
Dublin,   Hodges, Figgis,   London,   Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent and Co., 1891.
Hesburgh DA 972 .P636 1891
Also in the Internet Archive

Pococke, Richard. Richard Pococke's Irish tours / edited by John McVeigh.   
Dublin ;  Irish Academic Press,   c1995.
Hesburgh Library General Collection BX 5199 .P66 A3 1995

Derrick, Samuel. Letters written from Leverpoole: Chester, Corke, the lake of Killarney, Dublin, Tunbridge-Wells, and Bath. Addressed to several Persons of Distinction, and describing every Thing remarkable to be found in those Places, as well as many accidental Occurrences the Author met with in his journies thither. By the late Samuel Derrick, Esq; Master of the Ceremonies at Bath. The second edition. In two volumes.
London :   printed for F. Noble, near Middle-Row, Holborn; and J. Noble, in St. Martin's Court, near Leicester-Square,   MDCCLXIX. [1769]
Digital copy on ECCO.

Derrick, Samuel, 1724-1769. Letters written from Leverpoole, [electronic resource] : Chester, Corke, the lake of Killarney, Dublin, Tunbridge-Wells, and Bath. By Samuel Derrick, Esq; Master of the Ceremonies at Bath. ... .
Dublin :   printed for G. Faulkner, J. Hoey, sen. P. Wilson, W. Sleater, J. Hoey, jun. J. Mitchell, J. Williams, and W. Colles,   MDCCLXVII. [1767]   2v. ; 12?.
Digital copy on ECCO.

Twiss, Richard. A tour in Ireland in 1775 / Richard Twiss ; edited by Rachel Finnegan. Dublin: University College Dublin Press,  2008.
Hesburgh DA 972 .T97 2008

Twiss, Richard. A tour in Ireland in 1775 : with a map and a view of the Salmon-leap at Ballyshannon.
London :   Printed for the author and sold by J. Robson in New Bond-Street ; J. Walter at Charing-Cross ; G. Robinson in Paternoster Row and G. Kearsly in Fleet-Street ;   1776.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 972 .T97 1776
Digital copy on ECCO.
   Other edition on ECCO: Dublin: Printed for Messrs. Sheppart, Corcoran... 1776.

Campbell, Thomas. A philosophical survey of the south of Ireland, in a series of letters to John Watkinson, M.D
Dublin:  Printed for W. Whitestone, W. Sleater, D. Chamberlaine, J. Potts, T. Wierkinson, J. Williams, W. Colles, W. Wilson, C. Jenkin, R. Moncrieffe, T. Walker, T. Stewart, W. Gilbert, R. Jackson, L. White, J. Beatty, J. Exshaw, and G. Perrin,   M,DCC,LXXVIII. [1778] 
Digital copy on ECCO.

 Campbell, Thomas. A philosophical survey of the south of Ireland, in a series of letters to John Watkinson, M.D.
Dublin,   Printed for W. Whitestone [etc.]   1778.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 972 .C153p 1778
   Other edition on
ECCO
London : printed for W. Strahan; and T. Cadell in the Strand,   MDCCLXXVII. [1777]

Young, Arthur. A tour in Ireland : with general observations on the present statement of the kingdom: made in the years 1776, 1777, and 1778. And brought down to the end of 1779.
London :   Printed for T. Cadell [etc.],   1780.
Special Collections Rare Books Large DA 972 .Y84t 1780

Young, Arthur.  A tour in Ireland: with general observations on the present state of that kingdom: made in the years 1776, 1777, and 1778. And brought down to the end of 1779. By Arthur Young, Esq. F.R.S. Honorary Member of the Societies of Dublin, York and Manchester; the Imperial Society of Agriculture at Petersburgh; the Oeconomical Society of Berne; the Palatine Academy of Agriculture, at Manheim, and the Physical Society at Zurich. The Second Edition. In Two Volumes.
London :   printed by H. Goldney, for T. Cadell, in the Strand,   MDCCLXXX. [1780]
Digital copies on ECCO.
   Other edition on ECCO: Dublin: George Bonham for Messrs. Whitestone, Sleater..., 1780.

Young, Arthur. Arthur Young's Tour in Ireland (1776-1779) ed. with introduction and notes by Arthur Wollaston Hutton, with a bibliography by John P. Anderson.  
London   and New York,   G. Bell & sons,   1892. 
Hesburgh DA 972 .Y84t 1892

Bombelles, Marc, marquis de. Journal de voyage en Grande Bretagne et en Irlande : 1784 / Marc de Bombelles ; texte transcrit, présenté et annoté par Jacques Gury.
Oxford :   The Voltaire Foundation at The Taylor Institution,   1989.
Hesburgh  PQ 2105 .A2 S8 v.269


Bowden, Charles Topham. A tour through Ireland. By Charles Topham Bowden, Esq.
Dublin:   printed by W. Corbet, No. 57, Great Britain-Street,  1791.
Digital copy on ECCO.

La Tocnaye, De Bougrenet de.   A Frenchman's walk through Ireland, 1796-7 = (Promenade d'un français dans l'Irlande) tr. from the French of De Latocnaye by John Stevenson.
Belfast,   McCaw, Stevenson & Orr;   Dublin,   Hodges, Figgis   [1918]
Hesburgh DA 972 .L32
   Reprint (Blackstaff, 1984): Hesburgh DA 972 .L3213 1984

Latocnaye, de [Promenade d'un Français dans l'Irlande.English]   Rambles through Ireland: by a French emigrant. In two volumes. Translated from the French of Monsieur de Latocnaye, by an Irishman
London:  printed for G.G. and J. Robinson, Pater-Noster-Row; and J. Norton, Bristol, 1799.
Digital copy on ECCO.
   Other edition on ECCO: Cork: printed by M. Harris, 1798.

Holmes, George.Sketches of some of the southern counties of Ireland, collected during a tour in the autumn, 1797.
London,   Printed by J. D. Dewick, for Longman and Rees [etc.]   1801.
Special Collections Rare Books Medium DA 972 .H735 1801
  
Facsimile of this edition: Hesburgh DA 972 .H65 1987