Skip to main content

Irish News Sources

Historical news sources: Newspapers and magazines. This guide includes information on TV and radio sources and on a selection of current news sources.

Newspapers on Microform

The Microform collection, scanning stations and service desk, are in the Hesburgh Lower Level. The Hesburgh Library's microform scanners enable scanning microform to PDF, so consider brining a flash drive/thumb drive with you. Assistance is available during office hours. 

Individual newspapers are listed in the catalog, with their location number.

Most Irish newpapers on microfilm were purchased in three large sets, Irish Political and Radical Newspapers of the Twentieth Century, Politics and Society Through the Press, and Northern Ireland Political Literature: Periodicals 1966-1989.

Irish Political and Radical Newspapers of the Twentieth Century

Irish Political and Radical Newspapers of the Twentieth Century: Microfilm N117

This collection is organized thematically by movement or historic event. Each title may be searched in the catalogue, and lists of titles may be browsed under the series title. The microfilms are arranged at the N117 location, followed by series number and reel number.

Sections:

Ireland: Politics and Society through the Press, 1760-1922:

Ireland: Politics and Society through the Press, 1760-1922: Microfilm N150

There are over 30 newspapers in this collection, on 1,400 microfilm reels, so it is important to know the specific reel number as well as the location, N150. The printed guide, available as a PDF document, covers reels up to 960. All the titles are listed in the contents area of the catalog entry. The introduction in the printed guide to the collection, by Marie Louise Legg, provides background information on the newspapers in relation to different aspects of Irish history.

Printed guide: Ireland: Politics and Society through the Press, 1760-1922; Cumulative Guide, Reels 1-960 / Dr Marie-Louise Legg, general editor. Web page describing the collection

Northern Ireland Political Literature: Periodicals 1966-1989

These are in Microfiche format, best used with the printed guide:

Microfiche: G3 (Drawer cabinet).

Guide: DA 990 .U45 N678 1993

All microfilm print guides are on bookshelves by the Lower Level Service Desk.

Newspapers on Microfilm

In addition to the collections listed above, the following newspapers are available in microfilm:

Title                       Years    Call No.
Irish Newspapers on Microfilm

Ballyshannon Herald

1831-1883 N84 (6 reels)
Belfast Newsletter 1769-1800 N56
Belfast Weekly News 1921-1924 N163 (3 reels)
Carlow Journal 1784-1785 N165 (1 reel)
Carlow Mercury 1788 N166 (1 reel)
Clonmel Chronicle

1897-1913, 1922-1923,

1926-1935

N172 (31 reels)
Tipperary People 1876-1921 N168 (14 reels)
Clonmel Gazette or Hibernian Advertiser 1788-1795 N171 (3 reels)
Constitution, or Anti-Union Evening Post (see also Rare Books copy) 1799-1800 N174 (1 reel)
Daily Sketch 1916, 1922 N167
Dublin Saturday Post 1910-1920 N160 (9 reels)
Ennis Chronicle 1790-1802 N157 (26 reels)
Liberator 1927-1939 N164 (10 reels)
Tipperaryman and Limerick Recorder 1921-1922, 1927-1934 N159 (14 reels)
Volunteer Journal or Independent Gazetteer 1782-1785 N161 (2 reels)
Volunteer Journal or Weekly Advertiser 1785-1787 N161 (1 reel)
Volunteer Evening Post 1787 N169 (1 reel)
Collection of Newspapers relating to 1916 1916 N170 (2 reels)