Library Guides: Irish Studies Resources for Graduate Research: Home

Introduction

This guide is for anyone doing research in Irish studies, any discipline, at the University of Notre Dame. The intention is to provide guidance to the most useful research tools and information on the collections and resources available in the Hesburgh Libraries.

My Top Ten -- Websites that I consult very often.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Hesburgh Library Catalog

Irish History Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Irish biography This link opens in a new window
MLA international bibliography (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
Project Muse : scholarly journals online This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of British and Irish history This link opens in a new window

téarma.ie
The National terminology database for Irish.

Irish newspaper archive This link opens in a new window

Irish Times

LIbrary Websites and Online Guides

LIbrary websites:

The LIbrary Catalog: This is on the main page of the library.nd.edu website, and may be searched for books in our collection, both physical and electronic, and also books that are available in Hathi Trust's large collection of digitized texts.

ArchivesSpace. This is the database of finding aids for archival collections.

MARBLE: This is a repository of digitized images of selected items from the Hesburgh Libraries and from the Snite Museum of Art.

RBSC@ND: The blog of the Rare Books and Special Collections may be filtered by subject area, and so it is possible to browse through all the blogposts related to Irish materials and collections.

In addition, library guides on many subjects may be found in the Libraries' directory of LibGuides. A select few are listed below.