Skip to main content

Irish Studies Resources for Graduate Research

A guide to accompany an information session for graduate students, January 2016. Reference sources and primary sources for Irish studies.

It is useful to become familiar with the reference sources most often used in your field of study, and to know also where to find information on other sources. Subject bibliographies, dictionaries, biographical sources, catalogs and indexes, are increasingly available online, but not always in the same format or accessible through the same kind of search.

Finding Articles and Books

For more databases, see the following guides on the Hesburgh Libraries website: Databases by Subject and  Irish Studies.

Dictionaries

Oxford Bibliographies

These bibliographies are published in e-book form, and may be searched in the Oxford Bibliographies site. Bibliographies of interest for Irish Studies are listed below.

Use the link above to access the database, then find the relevant bibliographies within the collection.

1916. by Clair Wills.

Anglo-Irish Poetry, 1500-1800.  Andrew Carpenter.

Beckett, Samuel. Luke Thurston.

Bowen, Elizabeth. Eibhear Walshe.

Celtic and Irish Revival.  Michael McAteer.

Dracula. Jarlath Killeen.

Drama, Northern Irish.  Eva Urban.

Famine.  Margaret Kelleher.

Heaney, Seamus. Eugene O'Brien.

Writing of the Irish Famins. Marguérite Corporaal.

Irish Modernism. Lauren Arrington.

The Irish Short Story. Heather Ingman.

Literature of the Bardic Revival. Mary Ann Constantine.

O'Casey, Seán. James Moran.

Post-war Irish Drama.  Eva Urban.

Sterne, Laurence. Paul Goring.

Yeats, W. B. Lauren Arrington.

Irish Cinema. Kevin Rockett.

Irish Civil War, 1922-1923. Bill Kissane.

The Irish Revolution, 1913-23. W. H. Kautt.

Ireland and the Atlantic World. David Gleeson.

Cambridge Histories

The Cambridge History of Irish Literature, edited by Margaret Kelleher and Philip O'Leary is available online and also in the Library: PB 1306 .C36 2006 v.1-v.2. There are copies with this call number both in the Reference Area (non-circulating) and on the circulating shelves.

Within the Cambridge Core database, you can search for books and chapters across a variety of Cambridge publications.

Books, Dissertations and Theses Online

E-books can be found via the Library catalog, but an advantage of knowing the large collections is being able to search for text or subjects in the text of whole collections.  So for example, relevant chapters on Irish Studies can be found in a search of the JSTOR Book Collection.

Biography