Includes the full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun, from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Articles are searchable by keywords in Japanese and English. The database is divided into three sections--Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras; Heisei Era (September 1986 to present); The Daily Yomiuri (English publication). An additional section--The Contemporary Who's Who--is available in Japanese only.
The Japan Times is the most widely read English language newspaper in Japan that provides articles originally written in English based on independent reporting (versus translations from Japanese articles). The Japan Times Archives provides digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times, published in 1897-2014. Articles published since 2015 can be accessed on the Japan Times website.
Provides access to a variety of resources, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan, including books, periodicals, old and rare materials, doctoral dissertations, official gazettes, etc. Users, who are not within the facilities of the NDL and on the site of the partner libraries in Japan, can access only the contents in the public domain. For further information, see About the National Diet Library Digital Collections.
A collection of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) that provides a selection of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries (China, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, etc.) during the nineteenth century. Also, included are missionary correspondence and journals.
Through the University's membership, ND users can (1) borrow from the CRL's collection of approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources from all world regions; (2) request purchases. Most of these services can be facilitated by the Interlibrary Loan Department when you submit requests using the ILL form. For further assistance, please contact the East Asian Studies Librarian.
- CRL Online Catalog (*The records will soon be available in the ND Catalog.)
- CRL Japan resource guide Features some of the Japan-related resources at CRL, including corporate annual reports (1890-1945), Japan, U.S. and British government documents (1800s-), Court papers, journal, exhibits, and judgments of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East (1900-1948), Asahi shinbun (September 1940-), etc.
- CRL Digital Collections CRL holdings (documents, newspapers, books, and journals) that have been digitized in response to member libraries’ requests for loan. Included are some Chinese, Japanese, and Korean publications. Click here to browse the Japan-related titles.
A digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, and includes about two million volumes in the public domain that may be viewed online. Public domain titles are also searchable in the ND Catalog. Notre Dame students, faculty and staff can download them as complete ebooks in pdf.
- Japanese language titles in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust FAQ for Notre Dame users: How do I download an ebook?
To find Japanese videos in the Hesburgh Library, go to Advanced Search in the ND Catalog. Define Material Type, Language, and Search Scope as below, then click Search. If no search terms are provided, the results will be all the Japanese videos at the Hesburgh Library.
The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Click here to either browse the Japanese-related titles in the collection or search again within those titles.
- Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions. The collection includes some videos related to Asian Theater (mostly traditional Japanese theater).
- Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group. The collection includes several Asian titles.
Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Click here to either browse the Japan-related titles in the collection or search again within those titles.
Provides access to documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films. Type a keyword into the search box or select a subject on the Browse by Subjects page.
A collection of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) that consists of photographs from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas. Included are:
- Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period (1858-1897)--Nagasaki University Library's collection of 6,239 photographs.
- The Meiji and Taisho Eras in Photographs--The National Diet Library's collection of 515 photographs of famous buildings and sights of Tokyo (294) and the Kansai region (221).
- Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures--The National Diet Library's collection of 184 photographs that represent a wide range of professions: court/government official, jurist, military officer, scholar, educator, businessman, journalist, doctor, social activist, practitioner of religion, artist, and literary figure.
An open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia are included.
Postcard/photograph repositories of Japan, China, Taiwan and Korea, compiled and annotated by Professor Paul D. Barclay, Associate Professor of History, and General Editor of the East Asia Image Collection at Lafayette College.
This collection of primary sources (documents and photographs), part of the National Security Archive's Nuclear Documentation Project, was compiled by historians, social scientists, and journalists to inform and provoke responses from readers about the first use of nuclear weapons and the end of World War II.
The RBSC has a collection of Japanese photography books and magazines. To browse the records, go to Advanced Search in the ND Catalog. Define Language and Search Scope as below. You can further limit the results with keywords, such as photographs or photography. (photo* will include results for any that contains "photo" in the record.)