Library Guides: Korean Studies: Special Topic II : North Korea

About

This page introduces the Hesburgh Libraries' resources and reliable web-sources that are about the history, politics, and culture of North Korea--the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK).

Cho Kumhee, an independent researcher of North Korean Studies, contributed to this page.

Background Information

Go to Getting Started.

North Korea News

Many mainstream news media maintain a page dedicated to North Korea-related news. Below are some examples.

연합뉴스 북한 포털 Yŏnhap nyusŭ Pukhan p'ot'ŏl = N.K. news
Yonhap News Agency, the largest news agency in South Korea, provides extensive coverage of North Korea in Korean, English, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, Spanish and French.
North Korea | South China Morning Post
North Korea - The Japan Times
North Korea - The New York Times
North Korea | World | The Guardian

Expert Reports

North Korea’s Engagement— Perspectives, Outlook, and Implications
A brief summary of the specialist reports, presented at the National Intelligence Council (NIC) Conference, 23 February 2001.
38 North
38 North is a project of the US-Korean Institute at the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS). It publishes articles by leading experts about North Korea. The website provides a searchable digital atlas, photos, and videos.
North Korea International Documentation Project (NKIDP)
This project, sponsored by the Korea Foundation of South Korea, disseminates newly declassified documents about North Korea, obtained from its former communist allies, and other resources for the purpose of broadening the understanding of Western policymakers, journalists, and academics about the actions and nature of the North Korean state.

North Korea's Nuclear Program

Chronology of U.S.-North Korean Nuclear and Missile Diplomacy
Provided by the Arms Control Association, a national nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to promoting public understanding of and support for effective arms control policies.
Security Council Report: UN Documents for DPRK (North Korea)
A selection of up-to-date reports including: 1. Security Council Resolutions | 2. Security Council Presidential Statements | 3. Sanctions Committee Documents | 4. Security Council Letters | 5. Security Council Meeting Records | 6. Security Council Press Statements | 7. General Assembly Documents | 8. Human Rights Council Documents | 9. IAEA Documents
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA): Verification in the DPRK
"Coverage of events, media reports, documents, statements, decisions, information resources and related IAEA activities in connection with the nuclear situation in the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)."
Nuclear Threat Initiative (NIT) : North Korea
A report by the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey that includes background, history, analysis, and official documents related to North Korea's nuclear weapons program.
The National Committee on North Korea (NCNK)
Provides North Korea-related news, documents by governments, international organizations, issue briefs, and other useful links.
[New York Times] North Korea's Nuclear Program
"News about North Korea's Nuclear Program, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times."
[Japan Times] North Korea nuclear crisis

DPRK Official Websites

The connection may be slow at times. If any link below does not work, look up the site on the Internet. The website may have been moved. (It occasionally happens with North Korean websites.)

Democractic People's Republic of Korea : Official webpage of DPR of Korea
"...the primary site for the country, including the main source of information about activities lead by the KFA for promoting international ties of friendship such travels to the country, exhibitions, conferences, various cultural events and undertakings."
로동신문 Rodong sinmun
The official news site of the Central Committee of the Workers' Party of Korea. Available are recent articles published In Korean, English, and Chinese.
조선의 출판물 Chosŏn ŭi ch'ulp'anmul = Publication of the DPRK
Provides freely downloadable monographs and periodicals published by the DPRK Foreign Languages Publishing House. Resources are available in Korean, English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, and Arabic.
조선중앙통신 Chosŏn chungang t'ongsin = Korean Central News Agency
Provides the DPRK and international news. Available in Korean, English, Chinese, Russian, Spanish, and Japanese.
조선의 소리 Chosŏn ŭi sori = Voice of Korea
The international broadcasting service of the DPRK. Available in Korean, German, Russian, Chinese, French, Arabic, English, Japanese, and Spanish.
우리 민족끼리 TV Uri minjok kkiri TV = Uriminzokkiri TV
Provides short videos by the Committee for the Peaceful Reunification of the Fatherland of the DPRK (equivalent of the Ministry of Unification of the Republic of Korea). Topics include news, news analysis, documentaries, propaganda, literature, and cooking.
North Korean Movies on YouTube
North Korean movies with English subtitles, provided by the DPRK Video Archive.

North Korean Publications

Hesburgh Libraries

BOOKS

The Hesburgh Libraries' collection includes English translations of writings by Kim Il-sŏng, and Kim Chŏng-il. To browse, go to Advanced Search and search by place of publication: Pyongyang OR P'yongyang.

MOVIES

Documentaries

광주 는 부른다 = Kwangju nŭn purŭnda = Kwangju appeals (1985, English subtitles)
조국해방전쟁 Choguk haebang chŏnjaeng = The fatherland liberation war (1994, Korean only)
미제 침략군 무장간첩선 "푸에블로" 호 Mije ch'imnyakkun mujang kanch'ŏpsŏn = "P'uebŭlo"-ho U.S.S. Pueblo archival videos (?, Korean and English)

Feature films

1960s	1970s	1980s	1990s	2000s
피 바다 P'i pada = Sea of blood (1969, Korean only)	학부형 Hakpuhyŏng = A pupil's parents (1971, Korean only)	검은 장미 Kŏmŭn changmi = Black rose (1981, Korean only)	도시처녀시집와요 Tosi ch'ŏnyŏ sijip wayo : Chosŏn yŏnghwa = Urban girl comes to get married (1994, English subtitles)	푸른 주단 우 에서 P'ur'un chudan u esŏ = On the green carpet (2000, English subtitles)
	꽃파는처녀 Kkot p'anŭn ch'ŏnyŏ = The flower girl (1972, English subtitles)	우리 아래 집 문제 Uri arae chip munje = The problem of our downstairs neighbour (1980, Korean only)	가족롱구선수단 Kajok nonggu sŏnsudan = Family basketball team (1998, English subtitles)	그들은 제대병사였다 : 조선영화 Kŭdŭl ŭn chedae pyŏngsa yŏtta : Chosŏn yŏnghwa = They were discharged soldiers (2002, Korean only)
	금희 와 은희 의 운명 Kŭm-hŭi wa Ŭn-hŭi ŭi unmyŏng = The fate of Kum Hui and Un Hui. (1974, English subtitles)	사랑 사랑 내 사랑 Sarang, sarang, nae sarang = Love, love, my love (1984, Director: Sin, Sang-ok, Korean only)	줄기 는 뿌리 에서 자란다 Chulgi nŭn ppuri esŏ charanda = Trunks grow from the roots (1998, Korean only)	시대 는 축복 한다 Sidae nŭn ch'ukpokhanda = Times blessing (2004, Korean only)
		명령 027호 Myŏngnyŏng 027-ho = Order no. 027 (1986, English subtitles)

British-Belgian-North Korean Co-Production

김 동무 는 하늘을 난다 Kim tongmu nŭn hanŭl ŭl nanda = Comrade Kim goes flying (2012, English subtitles)

Resources at Other Institutions

Some materials might be available through the Hesburgh Libraries' Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. For purchase suggestions, contact the East Asian Studies Librarian (hjuhn@nd.edu).

로동신문 Nodong sinmun [microfilm] at CRL (Jan 16, 1952-December 1996)
Through the University's membership, ND users can (1) access the digitized content online Jan 16, 1952-Sep 8, 1953; Aug 7-Dec 1954; Jul-Dec 1956; (2) borrow the microfilm reels.
통일부 북한자료센터 T'ongilbu Pukhan Charyo Sent'ŏ = Information Center on North Korea
This Library, located on the fifth floor of the ROK National Library, collects and makes available for researchers. The printed matter, films, and artifacts--including all issues of the DPRK national newspaper, the Rodong sinmun, political propaganda, textbooks, and children's books--are banned and not accessible elsewhere in South Korea. The Library catalog, an online dictionary of North Korean vocabulary, the organizational chart of the DPRK power structure, profiles of the DPRK political leaders, and the publications by the Ministry of Unification, are freely accessible on the Library's website.
Libary of Congress North Korean Serials Database (NKSIP)
The NKSIP is an online article index database that provides access to approximately 278 North Korean serial titles at the Library of Congress. Browseable by title, authors, and subject.
Speeches of North Korean Heads of State
This guide showcases the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's collection, and chronologically displays the speeches by each of the previous and current DPRK leaders. English translation is provided for some titles.
North Korea Resources @ Pitt
This guide introduces the University of Pittsburgh collection of North Korean publications: periodicals in science, medicine, humanities, and social sciences, history books, textbooks, feature films, music videos, TV dramas, and documentaries. Some of these are unique holdings in North America. The guide includes an annotated bibliography of materials in English.
North Korean Propaganda Posters
A collection of the University California San Diego Library that consists of 66 hand-painted reproductions of DPRK propaganda posters from 1985-2002.