A collection of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) that provides a selection of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries (China, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, etc.) during the nineteenth century. Also, included are missionary correspondence and journals.
A digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, and includes about two million volumes in the public domain that may be viewed online. Public domain titles are also searchable in the ND Catalog. Notre Dame students, faculty and staff can download them as complete ebooks in pdf.
- Korean language titles in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust FAQ for Notre Dame users: How do I download an ebook?
Naver News Library is a full-text Korean newspaper article database containing the following four major newspapers: Tonga ilbo (Dong-A ilbo) 1920-1999; Kyŏnghyang sinmun (Kyunghyang Shinmun) 1946-1999; Maeil kyŏngje sinmun (Maeil Business Newspaper) 1966-1999; and Han'gyŏre (The Hankyoreh ) 1988-1999. The database is full text searhable with three display options - original text, Han'gul version text and original images.
Records of documents, artifacts, administrative information, audio/visual material, publications, etc. that relate to the former presidents of the Republic of Korea can be searched. Some are linked to digitized versions of the original records.
"The Joseon wangjo sillok (朝鮮王朝實錄 Veritable Records of the Joseon Dynasty) includes 28 different sets of chronological records, and each set covers one ruler's reign. It was compiled immediately after the death of the ruler in question. As such, the Veritable Records are not the typical history planned and written by a specific individual or team of individuals. The collection covers the reigns of 25 rulers, from King Taejo to King Cheoljong, and spans a period of 472 years." For information about the Sillok compilation, and how to use the records in English, click here.
"Seungjeongwon Ilgi, The Diaries of Royal Secretariat of the Joeson Dynasty, recorded for the 271 years of the dynasty from March 1623 (the 1st year of King Injo, 仁祖) to the June 1894 (the 31th year of the King Gojong, 高宗) the daily royal accounts, administrative affairs, and court ceremonies which were in the purview of the Royal Secretariat. The keeping of diaries began in the founding year of Joeson Dynasty, but those of the kings before King Injo were burned to ashes during the Japanese invasions of Korea and by palace fires. The extant 3,045 diaries are preserved in the Gyujanggak(奎章閣) Library(The library originally had 3,047, but Nos. 2,454 and 2,465 have been the lost over the years.)" For additional information (the structure and role of the Seungjeongwon, and bibliographical and registration detail about the Diaries, click here.
To find Korean videos in the Hesburgh Library, go to Advanced Search in the ND Catalog. Define Material Type, Language, and Search Scope as below, then click Search. If no search terms are provided, the results will be all the Korean videos at the Hesburgh Library.
The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Click here to either browse the Korean-related titles in the collection or search again within those titles.
- Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions. The collection includes some videos related to Asian Theater (mostly traditional Japanese theater).
- Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group. The collection includes several Asian titles.
Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Click here to either browse the Korea-related titles in the collection or search again within those titles.
Provides access to documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films. Type a keyword into the search box or select a subject on the Browse by Subjects page.
An open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia are included.
Postcard/photograph repositories of Japan, China, Taiwan and Korea, compiled and annotated by Professor Paul D. Barclay, Associate Professor of History, and General Editor of the East Asia Image Collection at Lafayette College.