Skip to main content

Newspapers

Digital Newspaper Aggregators

Contemporary or “recent past” newspapesr are found in the same aggregator databases as current newspapers. While the coverage differs, most aggregators do not cover material older than early 1980’s. 

Aggregators:

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Factiva

World news connection

Newspapers on Microfilm

ProQuest digital microfilm are  newspapers digitized from microfilm. Full-text articles from the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post are available. Coverage starts  with 2008.  While the digital microfilm newspapers are not searchable, citations from aggregators or other sources can be used to display a digitized copy with pictures and images.
 
Many newspaper titles are available on conventional reels of microfil in the lower level of Hesburgh Library.  Go to Catalog Classic , click on  the yellow tab More; select link Newspapers, then Advanced search.  Use the drop down menu for Format, select Microform; also use drop down menu for Location and select Hesburgh Microforms.  You can use keywords to focus your search.  The result can be sorted to display in chronological order.  While the sort can be less than 100% accurate, you can still produce a usable list of microfilmed newspapers published within the recent past. Click here for a current list.

Digital Newspaper Collections

McClatchy-Tribune collection
Includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Newspaper source (EBSCO)

Ethnic NewsWatch A collection of American newspapers published for and by various ethnic groups. Specific group(s) can be selected.  Coverage is current, with some titles going back to 1959.

Proquest Historical Newspapers  Some of the newspapers included in the Proquest collection have coverage up to dates that fall into the contemporary category:

Irish newspaper archives  Searchable and browseable database of Irish newspapers, with both historical and current content. 

Metro Eireann  Irish weekly multicultural newspaper.

Naver News Library Provides a Korean digital newspaper archive for articles published between 1920 and 1999 from four major Korean newspapers.

Russian central newspapers
Provides full-text coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia from official sources. Coverage mid-1990's - 2008

Russian regional newspapers
Provides full-text newspaper coverage from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation. Selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions. Coverage primarily 1999-2008.