Skip to main content

Newspapers

Aggregators

Aggregator databases  contain many different newspapers, often along with other types of news sources for legal, business and political coverage.  Titles can be searched individually or  simultaneously.The coverage is mainly current and contemporary, rarely historical. In most cases the coverage goes back no further than 1980. The newspaper articles in aggregators are usually  searchable full-text.  In most cases only text can be displayed, not pictures and other graphics. 

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Factiva

World news connection

Current Print and Microfilmed Newspapers

Current print newspapers are available in Hesburgh Library . Go to Catalog Classic , click on  the yellow tab More; select link Newspapers, then Advanced search.  Use the drop down menu for Location and select Hesburgh Current Periodicals.  This will generate a list of currently received print newspapers.  Click here for a current list.

ProQuest digital microfilm is comprised of newspapers digitized from microfilm. Full-text articles from the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post are available. Coverage starts  with 2008.  While the digital microfilm newspapers are not searchable, citations from aggregators or other sources can be used to display a digitized copy with pictures and images.

Collections and Single Titles

McClatchy-Tribune collection
Includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Newspaper source (EBSCO)

Ethnic NewsWatch   A collection of American newspapers published for and by various ethnic groups. Specific group(s) can be selected.  Coverage is current, with some titles going back to 1959.

Chicago tribune  1985- Current content for the Chicago Tribune is not included in any of the aggregators, only in this individual database.  The Tribune is also avalable as an historical newspaper, on digital microfilm and regular reels of microfilm.

Search Google if you don’t know the title of the newspaper you want. Current day or week is usually free; older articles often have to be paid for. For example in the Google search box key in: 

newspapers south bend indiana

or

newspapers morocco

for links that will take you to newspapers for a particular location.