Skip to main content

Newspapers

Historical Newspapers (Print)

The Hackenbruch Collection of American and British Newspapers is available in the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The Hackenbruch Collection contains 2,247 newspaper issues whose front pages were of historical import. The earliest were printed in London in the late seventeenth century. While most are single issues, there is a run of The London Chronicle for the last four months of 1774 and a run of The Kentish Post, or Canterbury Newsletter from July 28, 1733, to January 23, 1742, with gaps. The rest were printed in cities around the United States from the eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.

There are many newspapers in print format, often incomplete runs or scattered issues that can be located through  Catalog Classic by clicking on  the yellow tab More; selecting link Newspapers, then Advanced search.  Use the drop down menu for Format, select Serials (journals newspapers, etc.) and from drop down menu for Location, select Hesburgh.

Historical Newspapers (Microform)

Many newspaper titles are available on conventional reels of microfilm in the lower level of Hesburgh Library.  Go to Catalog Classic , click on  the yellow tab More; select link Newspapers, then Advanced search.  Use the drop down menu for Format, select Microform; also use the drop down menu for Location, select Hesburgh Microforms.  You can use keywords to focus your search.  The result can be sorted to display in chronological order.  While the sort can be less than 100% accurate, you can still produce a usable list of microfilmed newspapers published within the recent past.

Historical Newspapers (Digital)

Accessible archives Provides selected text from newspapers in these collections: Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800; The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (Nov. 1860-Apr. 1865); African American Newspapers: The 19th Century; The Liberator (1831-1865).

African American newspapers, 1827-1998   African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, the more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2 significantly increase access to primary sources for researchers across African and African American studies; political science; ethnic studies; diaspora studies; women’s studies; and cultural, literary and social history. Segment of America's historical newspapers.

 America's historical newspapers For searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America's Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive online resource available. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past. America's Historical Newspapers features Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922; 20th-Century American Newspapers, Series 1-3; and American Ethnic Newspapers. The latter includes African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971.

American religion: Denominational newspapers Contains more than 320 historical religious and denominational newspapers from 33 U.S. states, including many major denominations. Articles reflect American religion as a dominant cultural and social force, shaping views on slavery, politics, women's suffrage, Prohibition, westward expansion, and other great issues of the day.

Caribbean Newspapers. Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society 
Contains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1836-1922. Library of Congress. "[O]ffers more than 10 million pages from more than 1,900 newspapers in 38 states and territories, and the District of Columbia. The site provides free and open access to historic American newspapers published between 1836 and 1922." Also includes a searchable U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present. 

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Searchable database providing access to a "... compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries... features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project"..."--Product description. Segment of America's Historical Newspapers.

Irish newspaper archives Searchable and browseable database of Irish newspapers, with both historical and current content.

Nineteenth century British Library newspapers  Full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain.

 Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers contains digital facsimile images of newspapers presented as full page layout as well as single articles. 

 Paper of record   Archive of full-page newspaper images created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original  format of the paper. Includes U.S., Canadian and foreign newspapers.

Proquest Historical Newspapers Collection of full-text, full image newspapers from major U.S. cities, some European and 1 Indian.

 Richmond Daily Dispatch, 1860-1865

 Seventeenth-eighteenth century Burney Collection newspapers Full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).

Shen bao  (1872-1949), known in English as Shanghai News, was one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. The Shen Bao Digital Archive includes a complete run of this newspaper.

 Times digital archive, 1785-1985  A complete digital archive of The Times (London), including every article, advertisement and illustration.

World Newspaper Archive    A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe:
  • African Newspapers   More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
  • South Asian Newspapers  Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • Latin American Newspapers More than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.