Skip to main content

Newspapers: Introduction

Guide to locating and searching newspapers in all formats.

Ask a Librarian

For help with teaching information literacy skills, please call the Hesburgh Library Reference Dept. at (574) 631-6258, or Ask a Librarian.

Outreach Services Librarian

Laura Bayard
Reach me at:

Hesburgh Library
153 Hesburgh Library
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556

(574) 631-8570
bayard.1@nd.edu
Website / Blog Page

Introduction

Access to newspaper collections and individual newspapers continues to grow and expand.  Because of the many different formats, locations and time periods covered it can be challenging to identify, locate and search newspapers. 

Newspapers are available in a variety of formats, but the most notable growth is in digital form. However, print and microforms remain important.  Regardless of format, newspapers' locations and availability need to be established before access to content is possible.

Large groups of newspapers are historical, but there are also newspapers in aggregator databases  that provide current and contemporary newspaper coverage . Aggregators are groups of journals and newspapers "aggregated" in one large database. Titles can be searched individually, as well as simultaneously. Many newspaper titles in aggregator databases have records in the library catalog. Newspaper collections are usually different from aggregators because they cover a smaller number of newspapers, often from the same publishers, regions, or time period.

In addition, the Libraries has many newspapers on microfilm, digital microfilm and in print. Many individual newspaper titles are available in more than one format, depending on time period.

This research guide suggests ways to find current, contemporary (recent past), and historical newspapers available in print, microform or in digital format.

Location Tools

The Library Homepage provides several access points:

Search and Find tab at the top of the screen; scroll down to Newspapers

 Database tab at the top of the screen will let you key in a search term in a dialog box; the keyword "newspaper" brings up digital newspaper files. Note: no newspapers in print or microform will be included.

Catalog Classic ; click on  the yellow tab More; select link Newspapers.  You can search by title, place, subject to locate newspapers available in a variety of formats through the Hesburgh Libraries .

If a title of a newspaper is known, OneSearch can be used, but there is not a material type for newspapers.

Center for Research Libraries  is a supplier of newspapers in paper, microform and digital formats.  CRL maintains the  ICON newspaper database . It is a freely accessible electronic resource intended to provide reliable information on newspapers published outside of the United States. 

WorldCat can be searched for newspaper holdings in libraries worldwide, but full-text of newspapers is not available.