Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, including the complete run of Biography Today and Biography, along with narrative biographies not available in other databases. Users can locate biographies through keyword searching or by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication, as well as genre categories including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, and scientists.
Biographical information on the world's most eminent figures, including heads of state, key ministers, politicians, diplomats, religious leaders, the famous and successful in business, finance, technology, film, music, literature, fashion, sport and other professions.
Collection of texts on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century, published over a period of three hundred years by the Société des Bollandistes. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.
Provides relevant information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. Also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
Provides a single gateway to access images of art works, biographies of artists, and articles from Grove Art Online (based on the 34-volume Dictionary of Art); Oxford University Press' art reference publications Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms; and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Provides a single gateway to access cross-searchable, full-text Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods; draws on Gale Group's Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography; selected full text from Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism; includes full text articles from numerous literary journals and periodicals.
This reference source contains biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. It presents an accurate and reliable narrative of the development of science, not as a mere accumulation of technical information but as the collective accomplishment that has ordered our understanding of nature.
An extensive free listing of manifests for ships that arrived in New York between 1892 and 1924-the years during which Ellis Island was America's primary immigrant processing center and where 12 million immigrants were processed. This web site was developed and is maintained by the American Family Immigration History Center located on Ellis Island.
This website contains images from the NLI’s collection of Catholic parish register microfilms. The registers contain records of baptisms and marriages from the majority of Catholic parishes in Ireland and Northern Ireland up to 1880.
One of the largest collections of historical documents from the 1800s through 1954 with concentrations in Steamship and Ocean Liner documents and photographs, passenger lists, U.S. Navy Archives and additional materials covering World Wars I and II, the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and Immigration documents from Ellis Island, Castle Garden and other Immigration Stations.