Skip to main content

Reference Online

Images

Free Images Websites

  •  Flickr Commons includes images with “no known copyright restrctions” contributed by more than 100 libraries, archives and museums.     
  •  Getty Open Content Program makes freely available nearly 100,000 digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are  in the public domain.
  • Google Images has over 10 billion images, but many are low resolution.  A subset called Google Art Project features more than 40,000 high-resolution artworks from 46 museums.
  • Indiana Historical Society has more than 50,000 digital images. 
  • Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog has 1.2 million digitized images, as well as records for the 14 million artworks in its collection. Copyright information.
  • National Gallery of Art's NGA Images is a repository of more than 45,000 open access digital images.
  • New York Public Library Digital Collections includes over 800,000 prints, photographs, maps, and other materials.
  • VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) has over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
  • The Victoria and Albert Museum provides online access to nearly 475,000 images of art and design objects from its collections. 
  • Web Gallery of Art has 35,000 high-resolution images of European visual art created prior to 1900, with special concentrations in Baroque, Gothic, and Renaissance artworks.

 

 

ND Remix -Guide to using digital media for projects

Go to Remix | then click on a project to see the description. Each project includes links to tools designed to help you find, use, and display digital media for scholarly expression.