Skip to main content

Reference Online

Film Reviews

Academic search premier  

Provides access to articles in scholarly journals and general interest periodicals from 1984 to current. To search for film reviews use “Advanced” search mode and select field “Reviews and Products” from the  drop down menu.   

Expanded academic  

Provides access to articles in  scholarly journals and general interest periodicals from 1980 to current. Use subject keywords “Movie Reviews” or “Film Criticism” or search by film title, director, etc.

 Film literature index  

The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.  Also available in print: Hesburgh Reference PN 1993 .F45

International index to the performing arts full text  

Provides access to the performing arts literature. Use field for “Document type” and select appropriate types. Multiple types can be selected simultaneously, for example Film Review and Television Review.

Periodicals archive online   and Periodicals index online   

Access to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently.

Readers' guide retrospective    

Provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982

Lexis-Nexis Academic   

Provides reviews from newspapers and magazines from 1980-. Select category “Arts & Sports” and news source “Book, movie, music & play reviews.”  

Proquest Historical Newspapers  

These newspapers can be searched as one database or as individual titles. Complete content full-text searchable:  Boston Globe (1872-1923), Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1985), Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1985), New York Times (1851 - 2003), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1989), Washington Post (1877 - 1990)

 American Film Institute catalog  

Provides access information on more than 17,000 American films, made from 1893 to 1970.

Pacific Film Archive: Cinefiles 

Cinefiles is a growing collection of searchable, online reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the Pacific Film Archive Library's (UC Berkeley) clippings files. The files contain documents from a broad range of sources covering world cinema, past and present.

Film Critic.com 

Reviews of primarily recent releases and “one of the oldest and certainly the liveliest film and movie review destination on the Web!”

Metacritic 

Reviews of current films between critics (with links to online text of reviews when available).