Skip to main content

WR 13300 — The Rhetoric of Gender

Instructor & Course Description

Marjorie A. Housley

Resources: This guide assists users to identify and locate scholarly information about the rhetoric of gender (and other identities) found through the Hesburgh Libraries' catalog and services.

CQ researcher

Global Issues in Context (Gale)

Opposing viewpoints in context

Controversial Issues

ProCon.org

NOTE: This is not a resource that the Hesburgh Libraries subscribes to. ProCon.org's mission: "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."

  • Sociological Abstracts [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, book
    Coverage: 1952-present
  • America: History and Life [EBSCO] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Search can
    Coverage: 1910-
  • MLA International Bibliography [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    The MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures provides citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations MLAIB does not index book reviews.
    Coverage: 1925-
  • Project Muse (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Searchable collection of over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences.  
  • Academic search premier (EBSCO)
    "multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles."--Provider description. Coverage: 1975-
  • Web of Science Core Collection [Web of Science]  Thanks to strong support from faculty members from many different disciplines, financial contributions from the Graduate School and the Provost's Office, the Libraries have subscribed to ISI Web of Science! The three Web of Science indexes, premier tools for advanced research, include Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. We have a license for 15 concurrent users, so there may be times when you may find that all ports are in use. Be careful to 'Logout' when finished to free up access for colleagues.
  • Ethnic Newswatch [ProQuest] 
    Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.
    Coverage: 1959-
  • Contemporary Women's Issues  Full-text access to more than 1500 sources (including some 150 periodicals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups and government and international agencies) on a broad range of women's issues worldwide. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.
  • LGBTQ history and culture since 1940  (Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity, Part 1) The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. In addition, the archive encompasses extensive material related to feminism, women's rights, and women's concerns. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text LGBT Life (previously GLBT Life) contains indexing and abstracts for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender-specific core periodicals, in addition to data mined from over 1400 select titles. LGBT Life contains all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies database. Libraries' have online access to GLBT Life (2005-2006).
  • Gender Watch Coverage: 1970-  "GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports." --Publisher's description.

Killing us softly 4 advertising's image of women 1 video disc Hesburgh Library Call Number: D 11509

"In this new, highly anticipated update of her pioneering Killing us softly series, the first in more than a decade, Jean Kilbourne takes a fresh look at how advertising traffics in distorted and destructive ideals of femininity. The film marshals a range of new print and television advertisements to lay bare a stunning pattern of damaging gender stereotypes--images and messages that too often reinforce unrealistic, and unhealthy, perceptions of beauty, perfection, and sexuality. By bringing Kilbourne's groundbreaking analysis up to date, Killing us softly 4 stands to challenge a new generation of students to take advertising seriously, and to think critically about popular culture and its relationship to sexism, eating disorders, and gender violence"--Container.

Ethnographic Video Online
Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3

Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

Center for Digital Scholarship Sound Studio

One Button Studio  (Audio and Video)

Remix Digital Resource Portal

Undergraduate Library Research Award (ULRA)

Library of Congress

Loading

Tutorial(s)

Memorial University Libraries. How to Format your Paper in Chicago (Notes-Bibliography) Style. Video, 3:12, July 30, 2014, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_MURP3_MrU&feature=youtu.be
 

 

Loading

Etc.

Electronic Access: Chicago Manual of Style

Library copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk Z 253. U69 2010. Chicago Manual of Style. Printed 16th ed., 2010 (Other copies)

Quick guides

Kai Smith, Librarian-in-Residence, gathered these links for her course guide, ARHI 40372/60372 — Art and Architecture of Colonial Peru
Loading