Skip to main content

HESBURGH LIBRARIES  >  Library Guides

Ryan Rare Book Room: Overview

A guide to the holdings, policies and procedures in the Architecture Library's Ryan Rare Book Room

Find us on Instagram @ArchLibND

Architecture Library

Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday, 9 AM to 11 PM
Friday 9 AM to 5:30 PM
Saturday noon to 5 PM
Sunday 1 PM to 11 PM

When classes are NOT in session:
Monday - Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM
CLOSED Saturday and Sunday

117 Bond Hall
(574) 631-6654
http://library.nd.edu/architecture/

 

Who We Are

Jennifer Parker
Head, Architecture Library
jparker9@nd.edu
574.631.9401

Viveca Pattison Robichaud
Special Collections Librarian
vivecarobichaud@nd.edu
574.631.6018

 

Search the Ryan Rare Book Room Collection

Appointments

To request an appointment to consult materials in the Ryan Rare Book Room please use the online form below. Please schedule your appointment at least 24 hours in advance. For all outside researchers, please contact Jennifer Parker (jparker9@nd.edu) or Viveca Robichaud (vivecarobichaud@nd.edu).

The Rare Book Online Request Form

Ryan Rare Book Room

The highlight of the Architecture Library is the Ryan Rare Book Room (RRBR), an extensive collection of early architectural publications including first editions of some of the most important treatises on architecture. It holds the largest known collection of titles from the Helen Park List, architecture books available in the U.S. prior to 1775, along with selections from the Henry Russell Hitchcock’s “American Architectural Books: A list of Books, Portfolios, and Pamphlets on Architecture and Related Subjects Published in America Before 1895.” Other collections housed in the RRBR include Roman Architecture & VeduteFrench ArchitectureAmerican Pattern BooksBritish Pattern BooksGreek Architecture, and Rome Outside of Rome. Notable holdings include the first published architecture book, Alberti’s De Re Aedificatoria (1485), the first illustrated architecture book, the Fra Giocondo Vitruvius (1511), and the first full architectural treatise in English, Five bookes of architecture: translated out of Italian into Dutch and out of Dutch into English, by Sebastiano Serlio (1611).

The room is accessible by appointment only, Monday through Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM. Please visit the appointment page to request an appointment.

Exploring Architecture Through Early Publications showcases some of our volumes housed in the RRBR that have been digitized and are keyword searchable.

Jim R. Ryan

The Jim R. Ryan Rare Book Room

Dedicated on September 2, 2010

Jim R. Ryan, Notre Dame Class of '65

August 12, 1942 - May 28, 2009

Exploring Architecture Through Early Publications

The Architecture Library is pleased to provide access to these images from our collection of historic architectural treatises and other pivotal works, many housed in our Ryan Rare Book Room. There are over 1,500 images included in this database that are all keyword searchable.

Exploring Architecture Through Early Publications

Special Collections Librarian, Architecture Library & Institute for Latino Studies

Viveca Robichaud
Reach me at:

Architecture Library
117 Bond Hall
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556

(574) 631-6018
vivecarobichaud@nd.edu