Skip to main content

Theology and Religion

Overview of Theology and Religion

Theology is the critical study of the nature of the divine; more generally, Religion refers to any cultural system of worship that relates humanity to the supernatural or transcendental. Subfields of Theology include:

  • Biblical Studies is the academic application of diverse disciplines to the study of the Hebrew and Christian scriptures.
  • Church History studies the history of Christianity and the way the Christian church has developed since its inception.
  • Liturgy is the customary public worship performed by a religious group according to its beliefs, customs, and traditions.
  • Moral Theology is a major category of doctrine in the Catholic Church, usually encompassing Roman Catholic social teaching, Catholic medical ethics, sexual ethics, and various doctrines on individual moral virtue and moral theory.
  • Systematic Theology formulates an orderly and coherent account of the doctrines of faith.

Theology is an interdisciplinary endeavor. Related subjects include: Catholic Studies

Dictionaries

Dictionaries are most often collections of words in one or more specific languages, usually arranged in alphabetical order, providing information like word meanings, usage, etymology, and, when they contain more than one language, translations. Some dictionaries include information more commonly found in encyclopedias.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are collections of information on terms, figures, eras, locations also arranged alphabetically, and, alongside definitions of terms, they also include more in-depth general information on a topic. Encyclopedias can be general or subject-specific.

Directories, Guides, and Handbooks

Reference resources like directories, guides, and handbooks provide subject-specific, sometimes technical information to aid in understanding important aspects of the discipline or subject that they treat. Finding Aids are useful for finding information within libraries, archives, or specific collections. 

Directories

Guides

Handbooks

Biographies

Biography provides a description of a person's life,  detailing the basic facts like birth and death, education, family background, etc. but also portraying the individual subject's experience of those life events.