Theology and Religion

Indexes international periodicals in the fields of religios and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). It also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

In 2018 the content of Catholic Periodical Literature Index (CPLI) became part of ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS.

Includes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. The capability to search by specific scripture passages is useful.

Full text searchable journal collection of 350+ periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences (a subset of Periodicals index online). See Periodicals index online for more extensive indexing and links to selected full text articles.

Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Search can be limited to book reviews. Usage info: Licensed for 6 simultaneous users.

Collection of German periodicals considered to be among the most important in the following areas of research: Anglistik, Buch- / Bibliothekswesen, Geowissenschaften, Germanistik, Geschichte, Kunst, Mathematik, Musikwissenschaft, Naturwissenschaften, Neuere Philologien, Rechtswissenschaften, Romanistik, Soziologie, and Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

The Index encompasses the Mishna, Tosefta, Talmud Bavli & Yerushalmi, and refers to more than 1000 books, from the Geonic to the modern period, citing specific pages or notes in which the given Talmudic text is discussed.

Provides citations to articles, book reviews, and feature stories in 150+ English language periodicals of Jewish interest. Usage info: Licensed for 1 simultaneous user.

"Publishes English language abstracts drawn from a wide range of journals in various languages reflecting a wide array of complementary disciplines. The main objective of the Index to the Study of Religions is to facilitate the work and international collaboration of scholars in the academic study of religions and related fields. The database is updated with 600 to 750 entries per year. Articles are classified into the following three large sections: method and theory, religions in context by area, and textual and conceptual traditions"--Webpage.

Index to millions of articles in over 4,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published beginning 1770 or subsequently; scope is worldwide, covering major Western languages. Complete PCI Index, including links to selected full text articles. Only the index is searchable.

Provides full-text titles from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published in 139 countries. Includes the full text to the "Journal of philosophy" from 1904 to the present. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, meta-philosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy.

Finding aid to identify and localize text fragments and snippets of the Qur??n.

Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology, covering Christian, Jewish, and other world religions.

Searchable database which indexes and abstracts D. Min. theses and projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Access info: REQUIRES: Internet Explorer 5 or higher version browser (does NOT work with Netscape)

A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Searchable database providing citations to books and articles on the Bible, primarily from Brazilian or other Latin American publications.

A comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide relating to the medieval period of the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. Covers history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and more. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale

Onlive version of the German biographical church encyclopedia that provides information about persons related to history of the Church.

The Index Religiosus endeavours to become the international reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. It covers publications written in various European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, etc. ) and is the result of collaboration between the Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) and KU Leuven, which are both recognized internationally for their excellence in the field of Theology and Religious Studies. The new bibliography begins from the basis of two existing bibliographies: the bibliography of the Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. These two tools are internationally recognized as essential working instruments for Theology and Religious Studies.

An international reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. Indexed sources range from monographs, critical editions, translations, anthologies, miscellanies and exhibition catalogues to specialised dictionaries and encyclopaedias, handbooks, journal articles and reviews.

Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select International Medieval Bibliography.

Provides free, searchable access to electronic resources in medieval studies with connections to databases, services, texts, and images.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Buddhism as a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Hinduism. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Jewish studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.