Skip to main content

Government Information

Federal, state, and local government information during a Donald J Trump administration

Databases & Online Indices for Congressional Materials

Congress.gov includes Quick Search https://www.congress.gov/quick-search options for the Congressional Record, Committee Reports, Nominations, Treaty Documents, and Communications.

CQ Congress Collection (For ND students, faculty and staff only)

ProQuest congressional View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record

Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from
 
American State Papers:

The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817. The books are arranged into ten topical classes or series:

I. Foreign Relations VI. Naval Affairs
II. Indian Affairs VII. Post Office Department
III. Finances VIII. Public Lands
IV. Commerce and Navigation IX. Claims
V. Military Affairs X. Miscellaneous

Legislative Source Book The Legislative Source Book is a project of LLSDC's Legislative Research Special Interest Section. It was first begun as a printed spiral-bound book in 1992 and was launched as an Internet product in the year 2000 (see Internet Archive).

Search ND Law catalog for full-text documents on microfiche

Federal Elections Commission

In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.

The Commission is made up of six members, who are  appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Each member serves a six-year term, and two seats are subject to appointment every two years. By law, no more than three Commissioners can be members of the same political party, and at least four votes are required for any official Commission action. This structure was created to encourage nonpartisan decisions. The Chairmanship of the Commission rotates among the members each year, with no member serving as Chairman more than once during his or her term.

Welcome to data.fec.gov. We're building data files that will allow you to download campaign finance information in ways that we hope are most useful for you. We'll be moving the data we've always posted on our ftp server to this new location with these new formats and RSS capabilities. We're also working on a number of new datasets that will also be available here as we move forward. Each of the files listed here can be downloaded in either csv or xml formats. Each also has a metadata page that describes the information included and the structure of the file itself. You can also subscribe to RSS feeds for many of the files so you're notified whenever new data is available or a change is made.

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch is made up of the House and Senate, known collectively as the Congress. Among other powers, the legislative branch makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies. The following are legislative branch organizations:

Tools

GovTrack.us "helps ordinary citizens find and track bills in the U.S. Congress and understand their representatives’ legislative record. Launched in 2004, GovTrack helps everyone learn about and track the activities of the United States Congress. This is a project of Civic Impulse, LLC. GovTrack.us is not a government website."

Tutorials

American Community Survey

Congressional Research Tutorial

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The University of North Texas Digital Library's CRS Reports number nearly 20,000 items. CRS is the public policy research arm of Congress. This legislative branch agency works exclusively for Members of Congress, their committees and their staffs. For more information, visit the CRS website. (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Since mid-2002, Cathy Nelson Hartman and Valerie D. Glenn began to capture as many of the reports as available and to provide permanent links to them. Metadata has been created for each report, including subject terms from the Legislative Indexing Vocabulary, supplemented with Library of Congress Subject Headings. Users have the ability to search by keyword, title, author, subject, and report number.

Richard J. O'Melia Collection on U.S. Congressional Investigations of Communism and Subversive Activities, 1918-1956

In June 2012, Richard J. O'Melia's materials were transferred from Hesburgh Library's Lower Level to the  University Archives at the University of Notre Dame.