Skip to main content

Government Information

Federal, state, and local government information during a Donald J Trump administration

Executive Branch

The executive branch consists of the President, his or her advisors and various departments and agencies. This branch is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land. The following are executive branch organizations and agencies:

Executive

Seal of the Executive Office of the President of the United States 2014

Executive Seal by Executive Office of the President [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons.

The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents was published every Monday and was the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. It began in 1965 and has been digitized and archived on FDsys since 1993 and by The American Presidency Project since 1977.

(paper) Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents lacks some nos. and unbound; shelved at J80 .A4, 9th floor, Hesburgh Library: v.1:no.1(1965:Aug.2)-v.36:no.43(2000:Oct.30)

The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents has replaced the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents as of January 29, 2009.

 

Executive Office of the President-- The Library of Congress

The Public Papers of the Presidents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and is the official publication of United States Presidents' public writings, addresses, and remarks.

  • The American Presidency Project has collected, organized, and archived the Messages and Papers of the Presidents and the Public Papers of the Presidents as well as other pertinent documents related to the American presidency.

The Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913)

The Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-present)

  • FDsys has digitized and archived the Public Papers of the Presidents.

1991-present

  • Hein Online (Notre Dame faculty, students and staff only) has a Presidential Library that includes, among many other items, the Public Papers of the Presidents
  • 1929-1984 holdings available in paper on the 9th floor, Hesburgh Library and shelved at call number: J 80 .A283
    • (Incomplete holdings: 1929-1933, 1945-2003, 2004-2007:bk.2, 2009:bk.1,1945-1947, 1949-1950, 1984:book 2)
 

Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents part of LLSCD's Legislative Source Book.

Hein Online (Notre Dame faculty, students and staff only)

The Presidential Library collection includes titles such as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the
Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, and other documents relating to the U. S. President.

Presidential Bill Signing Directives (1929-  ) The American Presidency Project's index to Bill Signing Directives

Presidential Directives Presidential directives are signed or authorized by the President. They are issued by the National Security Council. Many recent ones are classified. They have been given different names by different Presidential administrations: For further information, consult the Library of Congress's Presidential Directives and Where to Find Them.

Presidential Executive Orders Disposition Tables contain information about Executive Orders beginning with those signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt and are arranged according to Presidential administration and year of signature. The tables are compiled and maintained by the Office of the Federal Register editors. The Disposition Tables include the following information: Executive order number; Date of signing by the President; Federal Register volume, page number, and issue date; Title; Amendments (if any); Current status (where applicable)

Presidential Speeches  State of the Union and Inaugural speeches are available from the American Presidency Project from 1789-present

The White House website includes information about the current administration, the history of the White House, and facts about the three branches of government. It also includes the current President's speeches, remarks, and statements on issues.

The White House

Photo of the Day

Executive Agencies

Executive Agencies; Independent Agencies; Boards, Commissions, and Committees, Quasi-Official Agencies    

The Library of Congress: Executive Agencies http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/fedgov.html

Independent Agencies

Established in Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution, the Cabinet's role is to advise the President on any subject he may require relating to the duties of each member's respective office.

The White House, President Obama: Notre Dame Commencement (2009 May 17; uploaded 2009 May 18) [Video file]. Retrieved from YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwJPOfIQKwA (May 8, 2015)

Obama's Commencement Speech at Notre Dame, May 17, 2009, Notre Dame news

University Archives, Digital Collections, Observer, May 15, 2009

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) This selection of materials from the Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) includes hard-to-find reports published by various government agencies. The technical publications contain reports, images, and technical descriptions of research performed for U.S. government agencies prior to 1975. Topics range from mining, desalination, and radiation to broader physics, biology, and chemistry studies. Some reports include maps, foldouts, blueprints, and other oversize materials.

Loading

President-elect Donald J. Trump

Libguide on 2017 Presidential Transition created by Bert Chapman, Purdue University Libraries, chapmanb@purdue.edu

Trump Tweets: Trump Twitter Archive The Trump Twitter Archive contains every tweet from @realdonaldtrump since he joined in 2009 and will remain current (within a day or two) until election day the end of his presidency. If any tweets are retroactively deleted, they will remain in the archive.

Social Feed Manager project. (description written by Justin Littman) This dataset is available from Harvard Dataverse at doi:10.7910/DVN/PDI7IN. More complete documentation is included with the dataset.

Richard Yarnall, Section Head, US Government Documents Section, US Anglo Division
Acting Head, Acquisitions Fiscal and Support Office, Library of Congress, 101 Independence Ave, SE, Washington, DC 20540 wrote on GOVDOC-L (12/8/2016) "As part of its web archiving program (https://www.loc.gov/webarchiving/), the Library of Congress is harvesting the Twitter account of Donald J. Trump as part of a collection for the 2016 election.  The Library of Congress anticipates continuing to harvest this Twitter account if President Elect Trump continues to use it in addition to, or perhaps instead of, the existing POTUS Twitter account.  These targeted web harvesting efforts are separate from the Library's acquisition of the wider body of Twitter content.

The Current President, Donald J. Trump

 
45th President of the United States
Incumbent
Assumed office
January 20, 2017
Vice President  
Preceded by  
 
 
   
   
 
 
   
   
Personal details
Born  
Political party  
Spouse(s)  
Children  
Residence  
Education  
Alma mater  
Religion  
Signature  
Website  

The Current Vice-President, Mike Pence

Under Construction

Vice President, Mike Pence

Pence's Biography