Skip to main content

Government Information

Federal, state, and local government information during a Donald J Trump administration

International IGOs and IPOs

United Nations, IGO's & NGO's:

Access UN Indexes current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications and includes full-text of several thousand UN documents.

UN Watch "is a non-governmental organization based in Geneva whose mandate is to monitor the performance of the United Nations by the yardstick of its own Charter. UN Watch was established in 1993."

United Nations Depository Libraries, Index to Proceedings (ITP), electronic version: "The distribution of ITP in print version ceased in 2011. This publication will continue to be available as a free download."

Dag Hammarskjöld Library (United Nations)

The United Nations Information on human rights, development, international law, peace & security and humanitarian affairs from across the globe.

Financial Tracking Service FTS is a global, real-time database which records all reported international hummanitarian [sic] aid (including that for NGOs and the Red Cross / Red Crescent Movement, bilateral aid, in-kind aid, and private donations) and to what extent populations in crisis receive humanitarian aid in proportion to needs. FTS is managed by the UN Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). From site

United Nations Statistics Division provides access to 16 different statistical databases on various issues of worldwide importance.

Amnesty International
"Amnesty International is a worldwide campaigning movement that works to promote all the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international standards." From site.

"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world." From site.

Global Exchange is a left-centered..."non-profit research, education, and action center dedicated to promoting people-to-people ties around the world.". From site.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
Information on NATO's policies and structures, official documents, press releases, speeches and publications.

Organization of American States
An organization of 35 American nations working on social issues such as "strengthening democracy, advancing human rights, promoting peace and security, expanding trade and tackling complex problems caused by poverty, drugs and corruption." From site.

World Trade Organization
The organization administers trade agreements, handles trade disputes, and facilitates negotiations.

Worldbank The world's largest source of development assistance.

Amnesty International

Microforms [Lower Level] Serial Microfiche Collection (Microfiche S91)

Section A: Country Dossiers, 1975-1986

Section A: Country Dossiers, 1988-1993,

Section A: Country Dossiers, 1998-2011

Section B: Publications, 1962-1986

Section B: Publications, 1988-1992,

Section B: Publications, 1997-2011

United Nations Documents

Documents Center, UN Fiche Readex (Lower Level Hesburgh)

Microfiche 4 x 6 [In-Library Use Only]

1985-2014 no. 1

United Nations System  Chief Executives Board for Coordination (CEB)

The CEB provides broad guidance, coordination and strategic direction for the system as a whole in the areas under the responsibility of executive heads. Focus is placed on inter-agency priorities and initiatives while ensuring that the independent mandates of organizations are maintained. The UN System Chief Executives Board for Coordination (CEB) comprises 29 Executive Heads of the United Nations and its Funds and Programmes, the Specialized Agencies, including the Bretton Woods Institutions (The World Bank and IMF), and Related Organizations - the WTO and the IAEA.

Foreign Governments

The Presidency, Mexico site provides information in five areas; the Presidency, Blog, Multimedia, Press Room and the Government. The bottom of many pages provides links to the National Development Program, National Library, Previous Administrations, Social Services, PEF 2013 and the 2012 Transition. While some of the site is in both English and Spanish, most of it is in Spanish.

   

The Government of Canada website provides basic information about Canada (anthem, flag, etc.), the Canadian Government, and Resource Center with online forms and services and a help page with a site map and information on web accessibility features. This site is in French and English.

   

The European Union has established a network of depository libraries across the US to provide Americans with access to many of its official publications. All depositories automatically receive, free of charge, one copy of most EU periodical and monograph publications. The collections are available to the public during each library’s regular hours of operation, free of charge and without any conditions. Many of the libraries also offer interlibrary loan services. The University of Notre Dame is among the 57 despository libraries in the U.S.

   

Other

CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Includes maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Microformats

Amnesty International:

Microforms [Lower Level] Serial Microfiche Collection (Microfiche S91)

Section A: Country Dossiers, 1975-1986
 
Section A: Country Dossiers, 1988-1993,
 
Section A: Country Dossiers, 1998-2011
 
Section B: Publications, 1962-1986
 
Section B: Publications, 1988-1992,
 
Section B: Publications, 1997-2011

United Nations Documents:

Documents Center, UN Fiche Readex (Lower Level Hesburgh)

Microfiche 4 x 6 [In-Library Use Only]

1985-2014 no. 1

Libguides

Cuba and Cuba Relations  This University of South Alabama libguide created by Paula Webb, Reference & Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian offers links to resources that include information about Cuban history, Guantanamo, and Fidel and Raul Castro.