Skip to main content

Government Information

Federal, state, and local government information during a Donald J Trump administration

Maps' Locations in the Libraries

Search the library catalog for Maps available at Hesburgh.

The Hesburgh Libraries' policy about print-on-demand USGS maps.

The Hesburgh Libraries' Maps and Services Guide

Map cases for print maps are located in Hesburgh Library's Lower Level in the government documents area. (map)

Atlases and a world globe are located on the first floor (northwest corner) in the Hesburgh Reference Collection.  

Tutorial

Coming soon!

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Resources

The Center for Digital Scholarship (CDS) at the University of Notre Dame is located in the northeast corner of the Hesburgh Library's first floor. The Center supports GIS, a system of hardware and software used for storage, retrieval, mapping, and analysis of geographic data.

The National Geospatial Program  provides leadership for USGS geospatial coordination, production and service activities. The Program engages partners to develop standards and produce consistent and accurate data through its National Map Liaisons. Operational support is provided by the National Geospatial Technical Operations Center. These and other Program activities that are essential to the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) are managed as a unified portfolio that benefits geospatial information users throughout the Nation. Provides links to major portals for geospatial products provided by the federal government.

Map Makers

ArcGIS Online is a free image Service from ESRI including Imagery, Street Data, Topographic Maps, Physical Maps, Shaded Relief Imagery, Boundaries, and more. Get a free ArcGIS Online account and start making web maps today. Create a map that can be viewed in a browser, desktop or mobile device. Share it on a blog, via email, or embed it in a website.

SimplyMap View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record  A web-based mapping application. Create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S. Usage info: Licensed for 5 simultaneous users. Access info: Each user is required to create a personal workspace.

USGS Earth Explorer, Science in a Changing World The USGS EarthExplorer (EE) tool provides users the ability to query, search, and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products from several sources.

 

 

GIS and Mapping

GIS and Mapping provides local, state, and national GIS mapping resources.

Local

Interactive Mapping-- GIS: City of South Bend Geographic Information Systems; designed to provide basic information to the general public about property within the city.  The map includes an aerial photograph of the city overlaid by parcel boundaries with parcel specific information including parcel identification number, property address and property owner information.

Michiana Regional Geographic Information System (GIS) represents the counties of Elkhart and St. Joseph, Indiana. Map layers include plat, political bounds, structures, subdivisions, zoning, and tax parcels.

State

Indianamap.org is the public source for map data in Indiana. It includes the information people need most in a format that is accessible to both the general public and expert geographic information systems (GIS) users.

Indiana Department of Transportation County maps includes maps of Indiana Counties.

Indiana Department of Transportation City maps includes maps of major Indiana cities: Anderson, Bloomington, Calumet, Columbus, Evansville, Falls City Area, Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Lafayette, Michigan City, Muncie, Richmond, and South Bend.

Indiana Department of Transportation maps and other publications include links to: Road Construction Maps, INDOT District/Sub district maps, Indiana State Map, Indiana Radar Map, and the Indiana Satellite Map.

St. Joseph County Maps provides maps of St. Joseph County.

National

National Atlas provides free printable maps of the 50 states with Congressional districts, topographic maps, and digital cartographic data.  

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) - NHGIS provides free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.

Reference Maps Reference Maps include a variety of map types that show the boundaries and names of geographic areas for which the Census Bureau tabulates statistical data. In some cases, the name is only in the form of a geographic code, such as a census block number. Some types of reference aps include geographic features and their identifiers that are coincident with the boundary. Examples are roads and water features. Reference maps can include additional features such as railroads to aid users in orienting themselves to the area depicted on the map.

U.S. Gazeteer provides U.S. places, counties, county subdivisions, and census tracts.

International

CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Includes maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

United Nations Environmental Program GEO Data Portal provides international data. Data can be displayed on a map, with a graph, in a table, or downloaded.

The East View Geospatial LandScan Global Archive, "developed at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, represents the finest resolution global population distribution databases available"--Legend on 2000 (East View Geospatial version, viewed March 22, 2013).

Data Resources

Geodata.gov  provides federal, state, and local geographic data.

National Geophysical Data Center provides Bathymetry, Topography & Relief data.

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) - NHGIS provides free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.

The National Map Viewer and download platform.

 

Maps (Collections, Historical and Other)

Serial set maps, 1817-1994
Specialized search module for maps from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set allows focused searches on geographic areas, subjects the maps represent, their titles, and associated names. Serial Set Maps will eventually cover the full scope of the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Library of Congress map collection includes historical map collections available digitally through the Library of Congress American Memory Project include maps from the Civil War, Louisiana Purchase, National Parks, Railroads and more.Google maps provides directions and satellite imagery.

The National Map: Historical Topographic Map Collection In 2009, USGS began the release of a new generation of topographic maps (US Topo) in electronic form, and is now complementing them with the release of high-resolution scans of more than 178,000 historical topographic maps of the United States. The topographic map remains an indispensable tool for everyday use in government, science, industry, land management planning, and recreation.

Hesburgh Library electronic resources list for Maps and GIS.

Google maps provides directions and satellite imagery.

Databases

Description: Graphic representations of an area, often indicating cultural, political, environmental, etc. information. Also, computer systems allowing analysis and retrieval of spatial data.

  • A to Z maps online View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
    "... database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps."--About page. ...
  • Africa interactive maps View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
    CD-ROM uses simple menu buttons to direct the user to both information and test-questions on the climate, countries, ethnic groups, history, languages, natural resources, physical features, and other topics about the continent. Usage info: Licensed for one simultaneous user.
  • Atlas cubano View Full RecordFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
    Mode of access: CD-ROM in Reserve Book Room.
    Call Number: HESB RES Electronic G 1605 .A85 2000
    Digitized version of the early 19th century Cuban maps of Rafael Rodríguez.
  • Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world map-by-map directory View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
    Provides information about every place or feature in the Barrington Atlas, including references to ancient testimony or modern studies. Usage info: Licensed ... []
  • CAIN Web Service: Bibliographies, Databases, Electronic Services. View Full RecordFree Resource
    This area of the CAIN website provides access to bibliographies, biographies, photographs, maps and documents on the conflict in Northern Ireland. See ... []
  • CIA World Factbook View Full RecordFree Resource
    The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational ... []
  • CQ's politics in America View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
    Mode of access: CD-ROM in Reserve Book Room. Software has been installed on the "Windows XP -- CD Station" computer.
    Call Number: HESB RES Electronic JK 1012 .C63
    Coverage: 2000
    Contains profiles of members of Congress, their committee assignments, key votes, etc., and background information on members' districts. ... []
  • Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (beta) View Full RecordFree ResourceFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
    A Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds, DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal ... []
  • Digital Sanborn maps 1867-1970 View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
    Sanborn fire insurance maps are detailed property and land-use records covering more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, ... []
  • Emerging spatial information systems and applications View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
    "This book presents innovative spatial information systems developed for a specific problem or decision-making situation. It also discusses key concepts ... []
  • Geodata.gov View Full RecordFree Resource
    U.S Maps & Dates, your one stop for federal state and local geographic data.
  • GIS Atlas for Indiana View Full RecordFree Resource
    Online atlas providing information on demographics, hydrology, elevation, geology, mining and much more for the state of Indiana.
  • Google Earth View Full RecordFree Resource
    Free high resolution mapping software with satellite imagery. Download required.
  • Google maps--Germany View Full Record
    Locate maps and satellite images of places in Germany, Austria, Switzerland (as well as other countries in Europe)
  • Griffith's Valuation View Full RecordFree Resource
    The Primary Valuation, the first full-scale valuation of property in Ireland, was overseen by Richard Griffith and published between 1847 and 1864. The ... []
  • Harvard Map Collection digital maps View Full RecordFree ResourceFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
    This virtual collection includes maps and atlases currently available through HOLLIS, the Harvard Image Delivery Service and georeferenced maps available ... []
  • History of Europe View Full RecordFree ResourceFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
    Coverage: Began in 2001.
    Collection of historical maps of Europe from 1 A.D. to 1700 A.D. Maps may be enlarged or viewed in sections. Supplements De imperatoribus Romanis : an online encyclopedia of Roman emperors, including an index of battle maps.
  • Indiana Department of Transportation MapsView Full RecordFree Resource
    Indiana Department of Transportation Maps and other publications include links to: Road Construction Maps, INDOT District/Sub district maps, Indiana State Map, Indiana Radar Map, and the Indiana Satellite Map.
  • IndianaMap: Mapping WebsitesView Full RecordFree Resource
    IndianaMAP is the largest publicly available collection of Indiana geographic information system (GIS) map data. It is made possible by an alliance of partners from federal, state, local organizations and agencies, and universities.
  • Map collections, 1500-2004 View Full RecordFree Resource
    Library of Congress map collections. Part of the American Memory project.
  • Michiana Regional Geographic Information System View Full RecordFree Resource
    The Michiana Regional Geographic Information System (GIS) includes the counties of Elkhart and St. Joseph, Indiana.
  • National Atlas of the United StatesView Full RecordFree Resource
    Designed to provide a reliable summary of national-scale geographical information.
  • National Map: Historical Quadrangle Scanning Project View Full RecordFree Resource
    Coverage: 1884-2006
    The historical topographic map collection contains all editions and all scales of USGS topographic quadrangles. Files are high resolution (600 DPI) scanned ... []
  • Natural resources Canada View Full RecordFree Resource
    This website is home to Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), a government agency dealing with natural resource issues important to Canadians. It covers energy, ... []
  • ProQuest Sanborn maps geo edition View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
    "uses a selection of images from Digital Sanborn Maps... images are georeferenced, or assigned geographic coordinates, that enable individual map records ... []
  • Trans-Atlantic slave trade View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record
    Mode of access: CD-ROM in Reserve Book Room.
    Call Number: HESB RES Electronic HT 1322 .T74 1999
    Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Allows tracking by time period and geographic region. Includes interactive maps for charting trans-Atlantic connections. []
  • U.S. Gazetteer View Full RecordFree Resource
    Search for places, counties or MCDs.
  • U.S. Geological Survey Maps, Imagery, and Publications View Full RecordFree Resource
    This website is a rich resource of information. It provides links to the Publications Warehouse, Maps and Data, and more. ...
  • UCD Digital Library (formerly: Irish Virtual Research Library and Archive (IVRLA)) View Full RecordFree Resource
    UCD (University College Dublin) Digital Library, a platform for exploring cultural heritage, engaging with digital scholarship, and accessing research
  • United Nations Cartographic Section web site View Full RecordFree Resource
    Maps and geographic information resources.
  • USGS Mineral Geologic Data and Images View Full RecordFree Resource
    Includes interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Mineral Resources.
  • USGS National Seismic Hazard Maps and Data View Full RecordFree Resource
    Part of the Earthquake Hazards program. The USGS provides seismic hazard assessments for the U.S. and areas around the world.
  • Wheel of memory : Hereford Mappamundi View Full RecordND-onlyND Catalog Record
    Mode of access: CD-ROM in Medieval Institute: Standalone workstation. Call Number: MEDIN GEN Electronic G 3201 .S3 2001 .K4
  • An interactive exploration of the Hereford Mappa Mundi, a late thirteenth-century world map that presents, in over one thousand texts and images, a panoramic ... []
  • World maps View Full RecordND-onlyFull Text ResourceND Catalog Record