|American FactFinder (AFF) is the primary way to access data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Puerto Rico Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Population Estimates Program and Annual Economic Surveys.|
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the source of much economic data including employmnet, wages, inflation (Consumer Price Index). More detailed data can be found here.
|CDC's National Center for Health Statistics provides FastStats, a site that provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance.|
Census Bureau provides a wealth of demographic information on people, business and geographic information. A Population Finder, Census QuickFacts for each state, as well as an interactive map with mash-ups about populations and economic data can be found on the site.
BIG TIP!! American FactFinder (AFF) is not intuitive. Try the Census Bureau Subject A-Z site. It is arranged alphabetically & topically (but some of the links go to the AFF).
Using American FactFinder by Kathleen Amen, Blume Library at St Mary's University (TX)
|This link takes one to information on Cybercrime collected by the Bureau of Justics Statistics.|
|From the national to the local level, The Economic Census provides a detailed portrait of the Nation's economy once every five years (it is conducted in years ending in '2' and '7').|
|From the 2012 Statistical Abstract, Economic Indicators demonstrate the activity of various industries (manufacturing, construction, residential housing, durable goods manufacture etc,).|
|Available in several languages, the 2010 Census has a population finder by state, Census briefs and reports (Congressional apportionment), an interactive map and many more ways to explore the data obtained from the 2010 Census.|
|Data-Planet "... aggregates hundreds of public domain datasets and several proprietary datafiles and makes that data available from within a single interface, enabling users to combine multiple datasets and customize tables and charts for themselves. Users scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts."--database's wiki page. Data Planet Home|
U.S. Energy Information Administration provides comprehensive data on all aspects of energy use and production in the United States.
|FedStats is MUCH easier to use than American FactFinder. The site provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.|
|The Office of Immigration Statistics provides statistics on number and characteristics of persons who became legal permanent residents during fiscal year 2012, foreign nationals who became legal residents, the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics back to 2003, and much more.|
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. provides comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Proquest Statistical Insight provides access to statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 , by private and state government sources (1980- ) and issued by international intergovernmental organizations (1983- ). Formerly known as LexisNexis statistical; Statistical universe.
|No longer funded by the Bureau of Justics Statistics, the Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics provides a wealth of data on the justice system, prisons cases, etc.|
|Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. The series excludes data on nonemployer businesses, private households, railroads, agricultural production, and most government entities.|
|UNESCO Cinema Statistics provides internationally comparable and reliable data that reflect a selection of major cultural industries and practices. From site|
|The FBI’s UCR Program is a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort of more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily reporting data on crimes brought to their attention.|