Skip to main content

IRLL 30311 / IRST 30311 — The West of Ireland : An Imagined Space (Nic Dhiarmada)

Research Guide

Here are some ideas for places to start your research on the West of Ireland.

To find books, use the Library Catalog:

Other places to begin your research include databases of articles, and also indexes and bibliographies which will guide you to articles and books.

You will find many more links in the Hesburgh Libraries' general library guide to Irish studies.

An Gorta Mór / The Great Irish Famine

Visit the Irish history shelves on the 11th floor to begin your research. DA 950.7 is the classification.

Don't forget to check the same number in the 'Oversize' area at the end of the room. 

Check also the library catalog as many books on the Great Famine are in other sections of the Library. 

 

 

The Famine Folios, a series of booklets published by Quinnipiac University Press, are all available in the Library. Some examples are below:

Primary Sources

Primary sources on the Famine include all kinds of documents from that time, and afterwards, including official reports, pamphlets written at the time, newspaper reports and commentary, and personal writings such as memoirs, travel accounts etc.

Examples in the Libraries include the following:

A Notebook of Accounts from a Soup Kitchen 
(Manuscript: Special Collections)

Forbes, R. B .The Voyage of the Jamestown on her Errand of Mercy. Boston, 1947

One way to find travellers' descriptions of Ireland during the Famine is to use the following bibliography and guide to books in the Hesburgh Libraries:

Newspapers for Irish History

Most of our historic newspaper collection is either in microform or in digital databases. The following online collections are most useful for Irish history: