Skip to main content

W&R 13300 — What does it mean to be right? (Ball)

Instructor & Course Description

Michael Ball

Resources: This guide assists users to identify and locate scholarly information about the rhetoric of public discourse found in the Hesburgh Libraries' catalog and services.

CQ researcher

Global Issues in Context (Gale)

GreenR (Gale) Global reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources

GreenFILE   (Ebsco) "GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government

Opposing viewpoints in context

Science in context (Gale)

ProCon.org *Created by Google and other donors, sponsors; not a licensed database 

  • Sociological Abstracts [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, book
    Coverage: 1952-present
  • MLA International Bibliography [Proquest] (ND faculty, students and staff)
    The MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures provides citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations MLAIB does not index book reviews.
    Coverage: 1925-
  • Project Muse (ND faculty, students and staff)
    Searchable collection of over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences.  
  • Academic search premier (EBSCO)
    "multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles."--Provider description. Coverage: 1975-

PAIS (ProQuest) (ND faculty, students and staff)
Contains citations and abstracts to articles, books, government publications, research reports and conference papers on issues of social and public policies, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, and law. Includes content from PAIS Archive and PAIS International.

Web of Science Core Collection [Web of Science] (ND faculty, students and staff) Thanks to strong support from faculty members from many different disciplines, financial contributions from the Graduate School and the Provost's Office, the Libraries have subscribed to ISI Web of Science! The three Web of Science indexes, premier tools for advanced research, include Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. We have a license for 15 concurrent users, so there may be times when you may find that all ports are in use. Be careful to 'Logout' when finished to free up access for colleagues. 

Gale Researcher Coming Soon

Search titles in One Search for more content information:

*Faith and reason New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group 2007, c1998 1 streaming video file (57 min.) : sd., col., digital file. Type: Video Record ID: smc_aleph000192611 (Saint Mary's)

*America Is Too Damn Religious A Debate (Available: Saint Mary’s) New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group; 2014, c2007; Format: 1 streaming video file (101 min.) : sd., col.

*Moyers & Company Decoding the Campaigns Published: New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group 2012, c2012 1streaming video file (26 min.) : d., col., digital file. Type: Video; Record ID: smc_aleph000200446 (Saint Mary's)

 

*Can We govern? Pt. 2 New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group 2006, c1992 1 streaming video file (60 min.) : sd., col., digital file. Type: Video Record ID: smc_aleph000192430 (Saint Mary's) Contributor: Bill D Moyers;

 

*Representation & the media Northampton, MA : Media Education Foundation c2002 1 videodisc (55 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. Type: Video Record ID: ndu_aleph003321268  Notre Dame, Hesburgh Library (D 09831)  

 

*When It Comes to Politics, the Internet Is Closing Our Minds A Debate  New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group 2014, c2012 1 streaming video file (100 min.) : sd., col. Type: Video Record ID: smc_aleph000205357 (Saint Mary's)

*State of the union politics in red and blue New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group 2006, c2006 1 streaming video file (43 min.) : sd., col., digital file. Type: Video Record ID: smc_aleph000196134 (Saint Mary's)

*Faith, politics, and tradition New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group 2006, c2003 1 streaming video file (26 min.) : sd., col., digital. Type: Video Record ID: smc_aleph000195300 (Saint Mary's)]

*C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb on C-SPAN's History and His Fight to Get Cameras into the Supreme Court Reason FoundationNew York, N.Y. : distributed by Films Media Group 2014 1 online resource (1 video file (37 min. 25 sec.)) : sound, color. Type: Video Record ID: smc_aleph000211232 (Saint Mary's)

Center for Digital Scholarship Sound Studio

One Button Studio  (Audio and Video)

Remix Digital Resource Portal

Undergraduate Library Research Award (ULRA)

Loading ...

Tutorial(s)

University of Maryland University College. "MLA Citations (8th ed.)." YouTube, uploaded by UMUC Library, 5 Aug. 2016, www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4pA-YE9GsI.  

"Understanding MLA Style" YouTube, uploaded by Kyle Stedman, 3 June 2016, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjbMfL92b7g.

Loading ...

Etc.

Modern Language Association

Used for: Literature, Liberal Arts, Humanities

Electronic Access: OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab/ MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Library Copy: Hesburgh Library Reference Desk.

MLA Handbook. Printed 8th ed., 2016. Hesburgh Library Reference, Reference Collection LB 2369 .G53 2016 [In-Library Use Only]

Loading ...