Overview - IRST 20590 — Irish Hands that Built America - Library Guides at University of Notre Dame

LIbrary Research for Irish Hands that Built America

[St. Patrick's Day in America. See digital image on Marble.]

This library guide accompanies the course, Irish Hands that Built America, taught by Professors Patrick Griffin and Ian Kuijt, and will help you use the Hesburgh Libraries' resources to the best advantage.

On this page, you will find listings of the main paths to finding information -- LIbrary website, good databases, etc.

On the 'Research' page, you will find ideas for using primary sources such as newspapers, and links to other useful library guides.

The 'Special Collections' page contains some information on relevant items and collections in the Hesburgh Libraries, both in Special Collections and in the University Archives.

Please enjoy the guide, and don't hesitate to ask for help or for more information.

Finding Information -- Basic Steps

Hesburgh Libraries Catalog
Use the Catalog to find books, including e-books, and journals, in the Library.
OneSearch
Hesburgh Libraries search facility which searches multiple databases including the catalog and many indexing, abstracting and full-text databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Archivesspace
This site contains finding aids from the University of Notre Dame Archives and Rare Books & Special Collections.Please use this site to explore and discover our extraordinary collections of primary sources.
Marble
Select digitized materials from the Snite Museum of Art, Rare Books & Special Collections, and the University Archives are featured on Marble, a teaching and research platform designed to make cultural heritage collections at the University more accessible to the campus community and beyond.