The Keough-Naughton Library Research Award is a grant awarded by the Keough-Naughton Institute for Irish Studies and Notre Dame International to support scholars' travel to use the collections at Notre Dame's Hesburgh Library for research in Irish studies.
A grant of between $1,500 and $4,000 is given to help defray the costs of travel and accommodation for a research visit of one to three weeks. These grants are competitive, and applications will be reviewed by a committee. The amount of the award will be decided taking travel and accommodation costs into consideration.
What kind of research project is considered?
The award is for scholars carrying out research in an area of Irish studies, or whose project will benefit from research in the Irish collections. Applications from international locations are encouraged. Research in all disciplines is considered—with the relevant consideration whether the Hesburgh Library collections are an appropriate resource.
The Hesburgh Library Collections
Irish Studies collections in the Hesburgh Libraries are broad and multi-disciplinary. The main area of interest for visiting scholars is likely to be the Hesburgh Special Collections. To understand the nature of these collections, please see the Hesburgh Special Collections page on the library guide, Irish Studies Resources for Graduate Research.
In addition to the Special Collections, the Hesburgh Library holds considerable collections of microfilm and of films on DVD. Some of the microfilm collections are listed in the Irish News Sources guide. The Linenhall Library’s Northern Ireland Political Literature: Periodicals 1966-1989 is held, and among the individual newspapers, the Irish language weekly, Inniu. For more information on microfilm, see the Irish News Sources libguide.
How to apply
Use the following link to complete the application form: Keough-Naughton Library Research Award application form. The form should be submitted by September 20, 2019.
Using the Library
The Hesburgh Library is the main library on campus, and is open seven days a week. The Rare Books and Special Collections department is open Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Readers may contact the RBSC in advance to ensure that materials are available, and may register and receive a reader’s card on arrival. Please see the page on Accessing Materials and Planning Your Visit for further details.
Visiting South Bend and ND Campus
Information on traveling to the Notre Dame campus is regularly updated on the Notre Dame website: https://www.nd.edu/visit
The South Bend area has a range of hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation, which can be identified through regular hotel or B&B websites or through the Visit South Bend/ Mishawaka website. https://visitsouthbend.com/places-to-stay/Hotels/.
The Hesburgh Library is in the north-eastern part of the campus and is served by a public bus as well as by a campus shuttle. For more information on the bus service, see the SBTranspo website and the Route 7 map and schedule. http://sbtranspo.com/routes-and-fares/
Recipients of this award will receive notification with information on the amount of the award and on any conditions regarding the timing of the visit.
Awardees are responsible for ensuring that they comply with tax regulations. Awardees are also responsible for obtaining visas, if necessary, and for arranging their travel and accommodation.