Architecture Library
152 Walsh Family Hall of Architecture
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556
(574) 631-9401
jparker9@nd.edu
Citation managers are indispensable for serious academic research, allowing users to keep organized records of the sources they find and include in their research.
Citation managers allow you to create and track references, or 'citations', and to create bibliographies or reference lists formatted in the style appropriate to that discipline, such as APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and many others. Citation managers allow you to import resource records directly from academic databases such as Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, JSTOR, Web of Science, and most others. You may organize your records into folders and groups and add notes and other metadata, such as abstracts, keywords and often documents themselves (pdfs) to enhance and improve the efficiency of your research.
Note: Currently no citation manager handles legal citation formats
Citation managers are tools which see heavy use by serious researchers, and it's important to use an application that you find easy enough to use and powerful enough for your needs. You may wish to begin by using what your colleagues are using—most citation managers allow the limited sharing of reference libraries. Using the same application as your colleagues may mean you can ask them for help in learning the ins-and-outs of the application. However, the library offers workshops and other training, and librarian experts are available for one-on-one instruction.
| Refworks | EndNote | Zotero | Mendeley | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Free to ND & Alumni | Free to ND through Web of Science | Free and open source | Freemium |
| Platform | Web | Web / Client | Web / Client | Web / Client |
| Library Sharing, Collaboration | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Storage | Unlimited | ? | 300 MB through Zotero; users can also select their own storage server. | 2 GB |
| Direct ND Catalog Integration | Yes | Yes | No, but catalog is compatible with browser plugin | Yes |
| Boolean Search | Yes | ? | Yes | No |
| Word Processor Integration | Word, Google Docs, Hangul (see details) | Word, OpenOffice, LibreOffice (see details) | Word, LibreOffice, Google Docs (see details) | Word, LibreOffice (see details) |
| Annotates PDFs | Yes | ? | Yes | Yes |
| Mobile Site or App | Refworks Mobile | EndNote Mobile | Zotero Mobile | Mendeley Mobile |
| Documentation | User Guide | Website | Website | Website |
All comparison data based on freemium price points (basic version). See Wikipedia's "Comparison of reference management software" for more detailed comparisons of these and many other citation managers.
Google Docs recently released its own built-in Citations tool, which allows you to insert citations into a Doc using MLA, APA, or Chicago (author-date). Learn more about Google's Citations tool. Full reference managers, like RefWorks or Zotero, can integrate with Google Docs and give you additional tools to manage your reference library and cite sources in a wide variety of styles.
RefWorks™ is a management software designed to help you save, organize and format bibliographic citations that you find in databases such as the ND Catalog, OneSearch, Google Scholar, Web of Science, and more.
RefWorks’ Write-n-Cite software allows you to add and format citations in Word documents in a wide variety of citation styles. It is the officially supported citation and research manager software at the University of Notre Dame.
We recommend that new users first Create an Account and associate it with their Notre Dame email, in order to take advantage of the full support offered to Notre Dame faculty, staff, students, and alumni.
No Backwards Compatibility for Write-n-Cite
Please note that documents created in the Legacy Write-n-Cite are not compatible with the New Write-n-Cite.
Include the artist’s name, title of work (italicized), date, medium, measurements, and the institution which houses the work.
Include the source the image came from, preceded by a statement which declares the source (for example “In;” or “Source:” or “Available from:”). If the source is online, include the URL and the date accessed.
Image from a Book:
Alice Neel, Nancy and the Rubber Plant. 1975, Oil on canvas, 203.2 x 91.3 cm. The Estate of Alice Neel. From: Ann Temkin et al. Alice Neel. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2000. Plate 64.
Image from ARTstor:
Rogier van der Weyden, Saint Catherine of Alexandria. 1430-1432, Diptych panel, 18.5 x 12 cm. Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna, Austria. Available from: ARTstor, http://www.artstor.org (accessed June 19, 2015).
Image from Museum Website:
Caravaggio (Michelangelo Merisi). The Musicians. Ca. 1595. Oil on canvas, 36 1/4 x 46 5/8 in. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. From: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org (accessed June 19, 2015).
Image from Flickr Commons:
Thomas Eakins, William Rudolf O’Donovan. 1981, Black and while photographic print, 6 x 8 cm. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C. Available from: Flickr Commons, http:// https://www.flickr.com/photos/smithsonian/2547841439 (accessed June 19, 2015)
Image from Flickr (personal images uploaded by individuals)
Friedrich von Schmidt, Vienna Rathaus. 1872-1883. Source: -keka-, Rathaus, Vienna. 2014. Digital Image. Available from: Flickr, https://www.flickr.com/photos/88975201@N05/13891404251 (accessed June 19, 2015)
Image reproduced from a printed source
Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work, in italics. Date of art work. Medium. Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if not already named. Title of printed source, in italics. By Author of printed source. Place of publication: publisher, date. Page or plate/figure/slide number. Print.
Rousseau, Henri. The Ship in the Storm. 1896. Musée de l’Orangerie, Paris. Henri Rousseau: Jungles in Paris. By Claire Fresches, et al. Washington: National Gallery of Art, 2006. 232. Print.
Image from an electronic source:
Artist's last name, first name. Title of Art Work in Italics. Date of art work. Institution where art work is housed (if known), City where art work is housed (if not already named). Database or website name. Web. Day month year accessed.
Image from ARTstor
Cassatt, Mary. Denise at Her Dressing Table. ca. 1908-09. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. ARTstor. Web. 18 June 2015. <http://www.artstor.org>.
Image found on the open Web
Citation includes: Artist. Title of Work. Date of Work. Museum or Collection, City. Database/Web Site. Date Accessed. URL (optional).
Backhuyzen, Ludolf. A Battle at Sea. 1692. J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, CA. The Getty. Web. 18 June 2015. www.getty.edu
Image from a Library Database
If known, the collection which owns the image should be included, along with its location.
De Chirico, Giorgio. Soothsayer’s Recompense. 1913. Philadelphia (PA) Museum of Art. Grove Art Online. Web. 18 June 2015.
Work of Art viewed in person at a Museum
Citation includes: Artist. Title of Work. Date of Work. Medium of Composition. Museum, City where Museum is located.
Atget, Jean-Eugène-Auguste. Boulevard de Strasbourg (Corsets). 1912. Photograph. Art Institute of Chicago.
Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Oil on Canvas. Museo del Prado, Madrid.