Skip to main content

The Cold War, Causes of

Articles (Scholarly & Popular)

OneSearch

  • Is our one stop shopping, "discovery tool."
  • Combines many but not all library catalogs AND article databases in one place.
  • Includes books, documents, essays, reviews, videos, etc.
    • AND journal and newspaper articles
    • AND selected websites.
  • Includes holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries AND the Kresge Law Library.
    • plus the holdings of the Bethel AND Holy Cross AND St. Mary's College libraries.
  • Provides faceted searching (think Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Wal-mart).
  • Does not yet contain the contents of all of our books, journals and newspapers.
    • To narrow or focus retrieval, use the "facets" or limits on the left of the page.
    • If you don't find books that you need, search the ND Catalog, OR Catalog Classic OR WorldCat.
    • If you don't find the periodical articles that you need, search appropriate databases.

POLITICAL SCIENCE DATABASES

RELATED DATABASES (Public Issues)

Social Sciences

  • ProQuest social science journals
    • Citations and abstracts with some full text, covering such topics as anthropology, sociology, political science, communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
  • Social services abstracts (ProQuest)
    • Provides bibliographic coverage, abstracts and indexes of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas

Law

  • HeinOnline 
    • made available by the Kresege Law School Library
    • includes hundreds of law journals including international sources
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic 
    • is a subset of the full L/N database;
    • has some international sources.
  • Other legal databases
    • are available from 8:00-5:00, M-F in the Kresge Law Library

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

  • JSTOR
    • mix of major journals in most academic disciplines
    • complete coverage of any journal in the database
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    • mix of popular and scholarly sources on all subjects
    • look for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" limit
    • complements Expanded Academic ASAP
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    • mix of popular and scholarly sources all subjects
    • look for "Limit Results:  to peer-reviewed publications"
    • complements Academic Search Premier
  • Web of Science
    • can be limited to "Social Sciences" and/or "Arts and Humanities" sections
    • features citation tracking, i.e. one can track who cited whom
    • strictly scholarly analysis
  • IBZ online
    • Iindex of scholarly periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences
    • 11,500 titles covered
    • international scope
  • Google Scholar
    • automatically limits results to academic or scholarly sources
    • if accessed from the Libraries' website, links to FindText
    • FindText links beneath entries take you to ND copies if we have them

Note It is frequently a good idea to limit your search in digital News Source to the Abstract.  Searching the full text will often produce an overwhelming number of "hits."

Finding Older Articles in Scholarly Journals

While most of the best databases for modern scholarship are online and many of them contain older scholarly articles, there are several indexes available in paper that include relevant scholarship produced in the 19th and 20th centuries such as.

  • International index to periodicals.
    • Hesburgh Library, Lower Level (Ranges 1 - 38), AI 3 .In8
    • v.3(1920/1923)- v.18(1964/1965)
  • Social sciences & humanities index.
    • (formerly International Index; split into Social Sciences Index and Humanities Index in 1974)
    • Hesburgh Library, Lower Level (Ranges 1 - 38), AI 3 .In8
    • v.19(1965/1966)-v.27(1973/1974)
  • Social sciences index.
    • Hesburgh Library, Lower Level (Ranges 1 - 38), AI 3 .S6
    • v.1(1974/1975)-v.24(1997/1998)
  • Humanities index.
    • Hesburgh Library, Lower Level (Ranges 1 - 38), AI 3 .H8
    • v.1(1974/1975)-v.26(1999/2000)
  • British humanities index.
    • Hesburgh Library Reference Indexes [Lower Level], AI 3 .B862
    • 1962-2008, 2010-2015  Currently received
  • C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974
    • Hesburgh Library Reference Indexes [Lower Level] (JA 1 .C75 )
  • C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in history, 1838-1974
    • Hesburgh Library Reference Indexes [Lower Level] (D 1 .C75 )

Popular Magazine, Journals & Periodicals


Popular sources provide access to public opinion contemporary to events as expressed in or shaped by the mass media.

See also "News Sources."

Differentiating among Scholarly, Professional, Trade and Popular Publications

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Are written by scholars for scholars.
    • Note, however, that popular media and news sources may be primary sources for research.
    • Purpose and context are crucial.
  • Cite their sources documenting their arguments.
  • Conform to the standards of a scholarly discipline.
  • Refereed or Peer Reviewed Journals
    • Are a subset of scholarly journals.
    • Are reviewed (refereed) by a panel of scholars (peers) before acceptance to determine if they meet the standards of the discipline and of the journal.
    • Are guaranteed to be scholarly.
    • For example, Journal of Peace Research.
  • Articles in other journals may still be scholarly -- look for cites and documentation.
  • Trade or Professional Periodicals
  • Written for practitioners or the well informed public.
  • May or may not cite sources.
  • Often look like popular periodicals.
  • For example, American Libraries or Scientific American
  • Popular Magazines and News Sources
  • Written by journalists and professional writers for the general public.
  • Generally have no documentation beyond an occasional in-text reference.
  • Have many glossy ads and colorful illustrations.
  • For example, Time Magassine, Paris Match or Cat Fancier's Weekly.