Skip to main content

The Cold War, Causes of

Government Documents

FEDERAL
 
Documents:  reports, miscellaneous publications, memoranda, letters, both public and internal
 

Other Legal Resources

Legislation as passed, codified and implemented

STATE. LOCAL & TRIBAL

Non-U.S Government Documents

The following webpage contains several national and regional guides to non-U.S. governments and their publications.

Alternately "Googling" the official or common name of the country and a topic or agency name and limiting your search to the .gov domain and the country code using the "Advanced Search" option should  usually provide a link to official publications. 

For example a search for < ("united kingdom" OR British) and foreign and site: .gov, .uk > retreives British Foreign Commonwealth Office (FCO) Home at http://www.fco.gov.uk/en as your first hit.

A list of Internet country codes is available at Internet Assigned Number Authroity (IANA) "Root Zone Database" page at http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/ .

In addition, government documents are increasingly being made available on the Web. Notre Dame has several online and print collections of documents that may be found by searching Catalog Plus or Catalog Classic (ND Catalog) or by using the Databases tab on the Libraries homepage.

Sample Collections

The United Nations

United Nations documents may be located online using the Official Document System of the UN. This site contains the reports and proceedings of the UN's many bodies and committees going back to the 1980s. For older UN documents, contact Mark Robison for help navigating the United Nations Documents microfiche

Additional documents may located or identified at the UN and affiliate organization websites.

See Alphabetic Index of Websites of the United Nations System of Organizations for additional organizations.

Other IGOs

A helpful directory listing IGOs can be found in::

Open Directory

Another means of accessing IGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "european union" and then use the navigation or search system of their web site.  Reports and analysis from IGOs are often available free of charge from their websites.

NGOs

An excellent guide to locating NGOs and their documents can be found at:

Another means of accessing NGO publications is to "Google" their name (i.e., search for the name of the group enclosed in parentheses, e.g., "human rights watch" or "amnesty international") and then use the navigation or search system of their web site.  Reports and analysis from NGOs are often available free of charge from their websites since part of their mission is often to disseminate vital information to the general public.  In many cases we have older publications in paper or microfilm.

For example:

Amnesty International Country Reports

  • 1990-1991 to date
  • Microforms [Lower Level] Serial Microfiche Collection (Microfiche S91)
  • Section A: Country Dossiers, 1975-1986
  • Section A: Country Dossiers, 1988-1993
  • Section A: Country Dossiers, 1998-2009
  • Section B: Publications, 1962-1986
  • Section B: Publications, 1988-1992
  • Section B: Publications, 1997-2009