Skip to main content

The Cold War, Causes of

Library Services, Etc.

FindText

 

  • FindText is a software program that links together
    • OneSearch
    • Google Scholar
    • ND Catalog and
    • Catalog Classic with
    • most of our databases including WorldCat. 
  • If you search in a database but the full text is not available online in that database,
    • selecting the FindText link will search other databases to locate online full text elsewhere.
  • If full text is not available online,
    • FindText then searches our catalog to locate paper or microfilm at Notre Dame.
  • If the paper or microfilm is not available at Notre Dame,
    • a link to the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) sign-in page will be displayed. 
    • Selecting that link will fill in the appropriate ILL form. 
    • A single "click" will then request the item.
  • The FindText Link in WorldCat also take you directly to the Interlibary Loan sign in page.
    • From that page a single "click" requests the item without having to fill in a form manually.
  • To take advantage of this feature, do not enable the "full text" only option available in many databases.
    • In several but not all databases selecting this feature will disable the FindText link to other databases.

Note:

  is a feature of Catalog Classic linking catalog records to maps of the Hesburgh Libraries, WorldCat, and area libraries.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan service is available to all members of the Notre Dame community. 

  • If we don't own or have access to an item that you need, we can usually get it for you. 
    • If it is a book or document, we can usually borrow it. 
    • If it is a journal, magazine or newspaper article, we can usually get a copy of it:
      • a pdf by email (the default) or
      • paper photocopy via the postal service if you choose.
    • There is no charge for the service.
    • They average loan period for books is two weeks.

To place a request:

  • go to the Interlibrary Loan link on the Libraries homepage for the ILL form (requires ND NetID & Password) or
  • use the FindText link in your database results list.

Please note:

  • All requests must be entered using the online form (sorry, no phone requests)
  • The first time you use the form you will need to fill out a profile.
  • Be sure to indicate you pickup location for books and paper copies of articles..
    • For undergraduate and graduate students, choose your favorite library (Hesburgh or Branch)
      • In the Hesburgh Library, ILLs are held at the Circulation Desk.
    • For faculty indicate your home department or institute at which you want to pick up ILLs.
  • For items available online, an email will be sent to you, noting that a pdf is available for downloading from the ILL site.
  • You may revise this profile at anytime.

For more details, go to More on ILL.

Please note that most libraries will not loan the following items though we can always try.

  • whole volumes of periodicals
  • reference works
  • rare or valuable materials
  • in some instances, audio-visual materials
  • fragile or bulky items
  • material on reserve or in heavy demand at the lending institution
  • in many instances, dissertations
  • They decide not us.

Delivery of Books

  •  Arts & Letters Faculty: Your books are sent to the departmental office that you select.
    • E.g., if your main office is in the Hesburgh Center, select Kroc.
    • If your main office is in your department, select the department (e.g., History, Theology, etc.)
  • Graduate Students: Your books will be available for pickup and checkout at the Hesburgh Library Circulation Desk.
  • Others:  See instructions on the Document Delivery page.

Delivery of Articles

  • Everyone:  electronic copies of articles are delivered via the web unless you indicate a preference for paper copies.
  • Arts & Letters Faculty: paper copies are sent to the departmental office that you select.
    • E.g., if your main office is in the Hesburgh Center, select Kroc.
    • If your main office is in your department, select the department (e.g., History, Theology, etc.
  • Graduate Students:  paper copies are sent to the Hesburgh Library Circulation Desk for pickup.

To Make Requests:

  • From ND Catalog or OneSearch, select "Request."
  • From Catalog Classic (ND Catalog), select "Find It" and follow instructions..
  • From most other databases, select FindText and then Document Delivery.
  • From the ILL/Document Delivery Request Form
    • Log onto Interlibrary loan and document delivery site with your NetID and password.
    • The first two forms are “Document Delivery Article” and “Document Delivery Book.”  
    • Select the appropriate form, fill out the necessary information, and submit.

Eligibility

  • The Hesburgh Libraries delivers books from the Hesburgh Libraries to designated delivery locations for Faculty, Graduate Students, Undergraduates and Staff.
     
  • Exception include non-paper formats (videocassette, CDs, etc.), items in non-circulating collections, and Reserve items.
  • Faculty, Staff and Graduate Students but not Undergraduates may also request pdfs or photocopies of articles. 

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables you to:

  • Insert formatted references into your paper
  • Format your footnotes and bibliographies
  • Create a personal database online
  • Store references which are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
  • Collect references from your favorite article indexes
  • Organize your research
  • Search a wide variety of article databases and import references
  • Sort and organize those references into folders
  • Web Access from anywhere
  • Share references with others

RefWorks has excellent online tutorials to get you started on your own.  In addition, the OIT in cooperation with the University Libraries offers two types of training:

Citation Management Software

  • There are several citation software products available on the market including
    • RefWorks
    • Mendeley
    • EndNote and
    • Zotero. 
  • The Hesburgh Libraries in cooperation with the Alumni Association and the OIT makes RefWorks available free to
    • all members of the Notre Dame community -- in perpetuity. 
    • If you wish, you can keep using it after you leave the university.

Style Manuals

  • The Citing Sources page offers links to guides for the most frequently used citation systems.
    • They are available in RefWorks for the automatic creation of bibliographies.
    • it's always essential to check automated output.
      • So, even if you use RefWorks, reference to citation guides is always advisable.

Increasingly academic databases are including the ability to track citations forward and backward in time to discover who is citing whom including:

  • links to works cited in a given reference
  • links to works that have cited a given reference

See Web of Science

See "Who's Citing Whom? Fall '10 Faculty Workshop"

Want to find out which journals in your field have the highest impact?  There are several sources you can use to determine the impact factor* of various journals:

* What is an Impact Factor? It is a number assigned to journals based on the average number of times articles from each journal are cited.  The more times articles from a given journal are cited, the higher its impact factor.  Journal publishers have discovered ways to manipulate this number, so take impact factor information with a grain of salt.  For a more complete description, read this article in Wikipedia: Impact Factor.

** What is an article influence score? It calculates the relative importance of a journal on a per-article basis. Learn more.

Use the following resources to calculate an author's h-index:

  • Web of Science - search for an author, and click the "Create Citation Report" link on the right side of the screen.
  • Harzig's Publish or Perish (Download required)
  • Google Scholar Citations also offers easy access to an author's h-index. You must have a Google account to access this service.  Instructions for using Google Scholar Citations are available here.

What's an h-index? An author's h-index gives an indication of the impact of his or her research over time.  The h-index is a number that is derived from an author's most cited papers.  For a complete description of the h-index, please visit this Wikipedia article: h-index.

Want a good way to track your scholarly output? Create an ORCID ID. "ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized."

 

Copyright

Many questions arise every year concerning photocopying and scanning by students and faculty.  Since this is a legal question, it is impossible for a lay person (non-attorney) to give meaningful advice beyond stating some of the basic principles behind copyright. 

This page, therefore, does not provide legal advice.  For legal advice one must contact an attorney.

According to the United States Constitution (Article 1, Section 8) copyright exists "To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries."  Congress has codified this constitutional right into law -- the latest major revision being the Digital Millenium Copright Act of 1998.

  • The fundamental principles:
    • Items in the public domain may be copied.
    • Items still under copyright may not be copied without the permission of the rights holder.
    • Exceptions:  "Fair use" for very specific and very limited educational purposes.

The copyright rules vary greatly depending on the type of work and its format, e'g. books, articles, poems, plays, videos, photographs.

In referencing the following websites, it would be helpful to keep three vary different scenarios in mind since context is crucial in determining the legality, appropriateness, or risk of copying all or part of a particular item.  They are:

  • Copying for personal, private use. 
  • Copying for classroom use.  This may fall under the "fair use" doctrine if several conditions are met.
  • Copying for distribution. 
    • Warning, this can include any copying that is shared beyond "fair use" in the classroom including posting a work to the web in whole or in part.  Distribution is the key whether one intends to profit from that distribution or not.

Helpful Websites