Hesburgh Library148 Hesburgh LibraryUniversity of Notre DameNotre Dame, IN 46556
Note: It is frequently a good idea to limit your search in digital News Source to the Headline and Lead Paragraph. Searching the full text will often produce an overwhelming number of "hits."
Digital Historical Newspapers
Accessible archives Provides selected text from selected newspapers.
America's historical newspapers Full text of more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922,
Chronicling America Home Library of Congress site that provides access to newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers contains digital facsimile images of newspapers presented as full page layout as well as single articles.
Caribbean Newspapers. Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society
Contains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.
Paper of record Archive of full-page newspaper images created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original format of the paper. Includes U.S., Canadian and foreign newspapers.
Proquest Historical Newspapers Collection of full-text, full image newspapers from major U.S. cities, some European and 1 Indian.
World Newspaper Archive A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe
Microfilmed Historical Newspapers
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Keesings World News Archive
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Historical newspapers are usually either digitized or microfilmed.