MARK 30120 - Marketing Research (Kleiser)

Databases on this page provide focus on analyzing various markets and the customer preferences within them. They will often provide insights into the types of products available in broad product categories. They will also provide analysis on consumer preferences at the demographic level for broader product categories. This type of analysis can easily be applied to the more specific products you may be focusing on.

For this project you are also tasked with conducting interviews as a survey methodology for bringing your own data to the project. The library provides access to numerous handbooks documenting the best practices for interview, survey, and marketing research design. These will be good to access to ensure your interviews are following good standards and practices.

• Taylor, Bogdan, Robert, & DeVault, Marjorie L. (2016). Introduction to qualitative research methods : a guidebook and resource (Fourth edition..). John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

• Maison. (2018). Qualitative Marketing Research : Understanding Consumer Behaviour. Taylor & Francis Group.

• Grover, & Vriens, Marco. (2006). The handbook of marketing research : uses, misuses, and future advances. Sage Publications.

Mintel

Market research reports that cover a range of consumer product categories from "Beauty and Personal" to "Finance" to "Multicultural America." Report sections include data about the market, the consumer, and brands/companies. Example reports:

• Athleisure - US - 2022
• Still and Sparkling Waters - US - 2023
• Suncare and Skin Protection - US - 2023
• The Airport Experience - US - 2022

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

• Type  s l o w l y  and let the autocomplete help you find useful search terms and phrases
• Look for the orange and red icon reports, which contain multiple datasets
• Follow up on the SOURCE listed to see if an external website offers more data, stats, info, etc.

SimplyAnalytics

• Select "Sign in as a guest" if you do not want to create an account. Create an account if you want to save your work. 
• A web-based mapping application. Create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S.
• Create a map showing demographic or marketing data for a specific location like state or zip-code
• Create a custom report comparing data across multiple locations
• Export a map to use in PowerPoint or Word
• Export Census ZIP Code, Tract or Block-Group data or Mediamark data for an entire city or county

SMA: Sports Market Analytics

Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.

Technavio

• Provides access to market research reports across numerous product categories.
• Reports include numerous visual market research models such as:
  • Value Chain Analysis
  • Porter's 5 Forces

Passport

Market research reports on consumer products and industries worldwide.