Skip to main content

Building Digital Collections

Overview

If you are interested in having your materials, analog or born-digital, hosted by Hesburgh Libraries in a digital collection, this is the place to start. This workflow accommodates digital collections with a primary focus on the collections of Hesburgh Libraries.

Digitization at Hesburgh Libraries is facilitated by a team of Case Managers (the Digital Collections Oversight Team, or DCOT).

After the Digitization Request Form is submitted, the request is triaged and a Case Manager is assigned based on the nature and scope of the project. The Case Manager serves as the primary point of contact for the duration of the project. From the first consult with the Selector, through coordinating efforts with affected units, and to promoting the materials, the Case Manager acts as both an intermediary between the Selector and the process, and as a guardian, shepherding the collection through the appropriate workflows.

If you are interested in contacting the team to initiate a project or consult, please send an email to casemanager-list@nd.edu

This LibGuide contains several resources we will use to guide you through this process. It is possible that not all of the resources will be necessary for your particular project.

Please feel free to contact us at any point for a consultation.

Steps towards starting a digital collection

  1. Read the Digital Collections FAQ. This document is designed to help you answer questions posed in the Digitization Request Form.

    a. There is also a Legal Glossary (hosted by the University of Michigan) that includes some basic information on legal terminology.​

  2. Contact the Case Managers (casemanager-list@nd.edu) or the Digital Collections Librarian with any additional questions.

  3. Fill out the Digitization Request Form

  4. Your request will be reviewed and you will be contacted within 24 hours for an initial consult with a Case Manager.

  5. During the initial consultation, your Case Manager will identify what steps need to happen to make the collection available online. As needed, your Case Manager may encourage you to consult with other departments, such as Rights Analysis, Preservation, etc. 

  6. After approved and prioritized, work will begin! Your assigned Case Manager will keep you apprised of all work, including periodic updates. If you have any questions throughout the process, contact your Case Manager directly.