Library Guides: Global Affairs: Background Information

Overview of Global Affairs

Global Affairs is an inter-, multi-, trans- or cross-disciplinary discipline. Global Affairs at Notre Dame is particularly concerned with Strategic Peacebuilding and Sustainable, Integral Human Development informed by Catholic Social Teachings. Thus, it is unapologetically normative not merely descriptive. It includes methodologies and insights from most of the social sciences, many of the humanities plus the arts, law, business, science and engineering.

Other Related Guides

Peace Studies
by Mark Robison Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 1783 views this year
Social Sciences Datasets and Statistics
by Michael Deike Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 272 views this year
Maps
by Center for Digital Scholarship Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 250 views this year

Getting Started

These resources will provide background information or context for your project or paper. They will also assist you in identifying key themes, participants, and events as you focus your research.

Themes and Issues

ProQuest congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. See CRS (Congressional Research Service) for brief, current, authoritative reviews of public policy issues.
CQ researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more, with a United States focus. Includes news covered in print issues of: Editorial research reports (1924-1986), Congressional quarterly's editorial research reports (1987-1991) and CQ researcher (1991-).
Gale in context. Global issues (formerly Global issues in context) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. Ties together a variety of sources to present an analysis of issues. Portal pages organize and present full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals, encyclopedia entries, and primary resources such as podcasts and speeches, videos, maps, images, websites, and statistics.

Countries and Organizations

Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Provides forecasts and reports on countries' economies, including key economic indicators, business operations, business environments, and regulatory frameworks.
Political risk yearbook This link opens in a new window
"Political Risk Services (PRS) publishes 100 Country Reports that monitor the risks to international business over the next five years, using Coplin-O'Leary methodology."--Home page

The World Factbook by The United States Central Intelligence Agency
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

International year book and statesmen's who's who This link opens in a new window
"The International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who including Who's Who in Public International Law Online is an authoritative and esteemed source of information on all the countries of the world, including territories and federal states; all significant international and national organisations, from the United Nations to economic and trade organisations; comprehensive biographical profiles of over 4,000 of the most important people in the world today."

Political Handbook of the World (2015)
Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.

Reference Sources

General Interest

Encyclopedia Britannica online This link opens in a new window
Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, articles not yet in the print Britannica encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (tenth edition), and the Britannica book of the year.

Global studies encyclopedic dictionary
This book provides brief expositions of the central concepts in the field of Global Studies" and covers "globalization problems within ecology, business, economics, politics, culture, and law."

Oxford encyclopedia of economic history This link opens in a new window
"... includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries... With coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos ..."--Home page.
Oxford handbooks online. Political science This link opens in a new window
From the Oxford Handbook: Political Science one may access dozens of additional subject guides relevant to all aspects of Global Affairs. These "Handbooks contain in-depth articles by scholars at the top of their filed. Each chapter surveys contemporary debates in a particular area, offering critical analysis and influential research on the future of the field."

Peace & Conflict -- See Peace Studies Research Guide

Other Subjects:

Borders

Border disputes : a global encyclopedia
"This three-volume set provides broad coverage of approximately 80 current international border disputes and conflicts"

Development

The Development Dictionary by Wolfgang Sachs (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection HD 75 .D4868 2010
ISBN: 9781848133808
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
"In this classic collection, some of the world's most eminent critics of development review the key concepts of the development discourse. Each essay examines one concept from a historical and anthropological point of view, highlights its particular bias, and exposes its historical obsolescence and intellectual sterility. The authors argue that a bidding farewell to the whole Eurocentric development idea is urgently needed, in order to liberate people's minds in both North and South for bold responses to the environmental and ethical challenges now confronting humanity."
Encyclopedia of International Development by Tim Forsyth (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection HD 82 .E547 2005
ISBN: 9780415253420
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
"The Encyclopedia of International Development provides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies and actors associated with international development for a readership of development workers, teachers and students."

Environmental Change

Encyclopedia of American Environmental History by Kathleen A. Brosnan Beginning with eight broad thematic essays, this resource highlights the major issues and topics in environmental history and serve as an entryway to other, more specific articles. Arranged alphabetically, more than 750 articles cover every significant issue, event, law, and figure in U.S. environmental history.
Call Number: Hesburgh Library, General Collection - GE 150 .E53 2011 v.1-v.4
ISBN: 9780816067930
Publication Date: 2010-11-01

Encyclopedia of global environmental change This link opens in a new window
"The Encyclopedia is a five-volume set with an associated website. Originally published in print format in 2002. The Encyclopedia contains: 500 authored articles; 150 definitions; 100 acronyms; 100 biographies of widely recognized contributors to global environmental change. Each article is prefaced by a few paragraphs aimed at the non-specialist level followed by a more rigorous academic review."

Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Governance and Politics by Philipp H. Pattberg (Editor); Fariborz Zelli (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection HD 75.6 .E58 2015
ISBN: 9781782545781
Publication Date: 2015-11-27
"The Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Governance and Politics surveys the broad range of environmental and sustainability challenges in the emerging Anthropocene and scrutinizes available concepts, methodological tools, theories and approaches, as well as overlaps with adjunct fields of study."

Encyclopaedia of global warming
"... aimed at catering to the needs of the scholars, researchers, policymakers, scientists, academics and of course, general readers, alike. This work, a research based effort should to be a good source for students and general readers concerned."

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change This link opens in a new window
"These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change—ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes."

Gender

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae (Editor); Dale Spender (Editor)
Call Number: Lower Level - Ranges 1-38 HQ 1115 .R69 2000
ISBN: 0415920884
Publication Date: 2000-12-27
"For a full list of entries and contributors, sample entries, and more, visit the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women website. Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women brings the field into the new millennium."

The Wiley Blackwell encyclopedia of gender and sexuality studies
"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields."

Globalization

The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization by George Ritzer
Call Number: JZ 1318 .W543 2012
ISBN: 9781405188241
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
Containing over 600 entries on the essential topics of Globalization, this collection offers the definitive reference resource for students, researchers and academics in the field. Offers clear and concise explanations of the key concepts of Globalization Includes entries on concepts derived from across the social sciences, from sociology and anthropology to political science, economics, and human geography.

Health

Encyclopedia of Immigrant Health This link opens in a new window
Adopts a biopsychosocial-historical approach to immigrant health, with a focus on immigrant populations in, and immigration to, magnet countries. Extensive references to worldwide trends and global issues are made throughout entries. Covers a broad array of medical and social science topics related to immigrant health.
Encyclopedia of Global Health This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive, one stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. Encompassing four volumes with more than 1,200 articles, the Encyclopedia covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.

Justice

Encyclopedia of global justice
Addresses "the moral consequences of global interdependence and understanding the concepts and arguments that shed light on the myriad aspects of global justice."

Literature

The postcolonial studies dictionary
... :ollection of over 150 jargon-free definitions of key terms and concepts in postcolonial theory."

Migration

American Immigration: An Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural Change Change
This reference work traces the scope of U.S. immigration from the earliest settlements to the present, providing a multidisciplinary approach.

Encyclopedia of Diasporas by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor); Ian A. Skoggard (Editor)
Call Number: Lower Level - Ranges 1-38 JV 6225 .E53 2005
ISBN: 0306483211
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
"Consists of two volumes covering three main sections: Diaspora Overviews covers over 20 ethnic groups that have experienced voluntary or forced immigration. These essays discuss the history behind the social, economic, and political reasons for leaving the original countries, and the cultures in the new places..."

The encyclopedia of global human migration
"Provides a complete exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day."
The encyclopedia of migration and minorities in Europe
..."this encyclopaedia presents a systematic overview of the existing scholarship regarding migration within and into Europe."

The encyclopedia of the Indian diaspora by Brij V Lal Peter Reeves 1935- Rajesh Rai
Call Number: General Collection DS 432.5 .E53 2007
ISBN: 019568432X
Publication Date: 2007
The Making of Modern Immigration by Patrick J. Hayes (Editor)
Call Number: Reference, Collection [1st Floor] - JV 6450 .M364 2012 [In-Library Use Only]

Security

Globalization and Security by G. Honor Fagan (Editor); Ronaldo Munck (Editor)
Call Number: D 763 .M47 G56 2009
ISBN: 9780275996925
Publication Date: 2009-10-27
A unique set provides an up-to-date overview of the impact of globalization on international security by examining how the interrelationships of economics, politics, and culture determine levels of stability within regions around the world.

International security and the United States an encyclopedia
"The focus of this reference project is human security. Whereas the traditional goal of ‘‘national security’’ was the defense of the state from external threats, the focus of human security is the protection of individuals."

Sustainability

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability by Willis Jenkins (Editor); Whitney Bauman (Editor)
ISBN: 1933782153
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
"Coverage ranges widely, from the promise and problems of global and indigenous religions to major theories in philosophy and environmental ethics, and then to professional practices and social movements. As a whole, the volume describes the various goals of sustainability¿ecological integrity, economic health, human dignity, fairness to the future, social justice¿as well as interpretive frameworks for reasoning through their combined challenge."

Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST)
... "Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge."

Handbook of Research on Sustainable Development and Economics by Ken D. Thomas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781466684348
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
The Handbook of Research on Sustainable Development and Economics explores topics such as poverty, gender equality, health, security, and the environment through global empirical studies and fundamental frameworks.
Figures for the future : sustainable development in our everyday life : a guide for citizens. by Statistical Office of the European Communities.
Call Number: Notre Dame, Hesburgh Library European Community (Lower Level Hesburgh) (HC 240.9.E5 F54 2016 )
Publication Date: 2016
Figures for the future is a statistical guide to the EU sustainable development indicators in the context of the SDGs. It communicates statistical figures as seen through the eyes of a fictional 21-year-old student, Anne. Anne aims to find answers to many questions that relate to our everyday lives and our future.

Sustainable Development Handbook
Sustainable development is a concept that incorporates energy, urban management, environmental objectives, policy integration, and the idea that effective solutions can be achieved in a cooperative manner with concerted effort.
Towards new global strategies public goods and human rights
This book aims to contribute to the debate on global public goods, a debate which has been taking place for some time in the UN and the World Bank, among the regional development banks and bilaterally among states and donors.

Statistics and Data Sets

Guides

Social Sciences Datasets and Statistics
by Michael Deike Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 272 views this year

International

International financial statistics online service This link opens in a new window
The IFS searchable database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948. Includes data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates. Part of IMF eLibrary - Data. Access info: In "Data source" dropdown menu, select "International Financial Statistics"

United Nations Statistics Division
Compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
UNESCO Statistics (Themes Portal)
provides internationally comparable and reliable data that reflect a selection of major cultural industries and practices. From site The FBI’s UCR Program is a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort of more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily reporting data on crimes brought to their attention.
World Development Indicators
The World Development Indicators' DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online library for books, papers and reports published by OECD and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Formerly known as SourceOECD.

Human Development Reports
From the UN Development Programme. Annual data on development, by country, including measures of equality, education, health, environmental sustainability, and more.
World Bank Data
Free and open access to global development data

World Christian database This link opens in a new window
WCD includes detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world. Extensive data are available on 239 countries and 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as on 5,000 cities and 3,000 provinces. Resource based on the 2001 revisions of print versions of World Christian encyclopedia and the World Christian trends.
World religion database This link opens in a new window
"... WRD contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050... "--Provided by publisher.
International Historical Statistics (ebook) This link opens in a new window
Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Covering the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Oceania.

World Values Survey
The World Values Survey (www.worldvaluessurvey.org) is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. ... The WVS seeks to help scientists and policy makers understand changes in the beliefs, values and motivations of people throughout the world.

LAPOP, Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new window
Survey data covering Latin American citizen views on political tolerance, citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism. Includes AmericasBarometer surveys.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
More than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and 70 other countries from 1986 through the present. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

SIPRI Yearbook World Armaments and Disarmament (2023)
An essential and independent source for issues on armaments and arms control, conflicts and resolutions, security arrangements and disarmament, as well as longer-term trends in international security.
UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia (UCDP database)
Uppsala Conflict Data Program

Domestic U.S.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
The world's largest archive of datasets in the social and behavioral sciences. Access info: To download data, users must create a personal account using their Notre Dame email address.

General Social Survey (GSS)
"Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions."
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

Census Data This link opens in a new window
Data from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about U.S. population, business, housing, economics, and more.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Sage Data offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
National consumer study (via Simmons OneView) This link opens in a new window
Survey analysis and planning software (Simmons OneView) that includes data from recent Simmons' national consumer studies. Access info: Restricted to users with valid Notre Dame Net IDs

Data and Statistics about the U.S.
The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

Atlases and Maps

Guides

Maps
by Center for Digital Scholarship Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 250 views this year

Online

United Nations Geospatial Information Section (formerly Cartographic Section)
The Map Collection of the united nations cartographic section houses over 80,000 maps, some 3,000 atlases, gazetteers, travel guides, cartographic and geographic reference works as well as digital cartographic products.
Atlas of Global Development
The "... revised and updated fourth edition of the Atlas of Global Development is a comprehensive guide to the most critical issues facing our changing world today."
Google Earth
From Google, requires Google Chrome and does not allow printing. Google Earth is a geobrowser that accesses satellite and aerial imagery, ocean bathymetry, and other geographic data over the internet to represent the Earth as a three-dimensional globe.

Print Atlases

World Atlas of Sustainable Development
Call Number: HC 79 .E5 S237 2005

The Hesburgh Libraries have atlases for almost any subject you might need. They are listed in the NDCatalog and located in the:

Hesburgh Library Reference Collection in Oversized Cases
Hesburgh Library General Collection (Lower Level) in the G 1000s
Kellogg Kroc Library (318 Hesburgh Center) - duplicates of titles in the Hesburgh Library
Please note that some atlases are not in the G (geography / atlas) classification. They may be found in the General Collection.