Global Affairs

A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

CRL is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. It supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.

IBSS database covers international social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. Abstracts and indexes journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

From this volume or any other volume in the Oxford Bibliographies Online series, one may access peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on numerous subjects relevant to Global Affairs. For example, this series includes but is not limited to the following volumes:

Contains citations and abstracts of articles, books, government publications, research reports and conference papers on issues of social and public policies. PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) includes content from two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive.

Provides access to information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy.

Accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.

Provides indexing and abstracts to articles on political science published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide. Covers more than 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous user.

Contains searchable full text of international affairs working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, foundation-funded research projects and links to international affairs centers, institutes, and further resources.

Provides citations and abstracts, with some full text, to publications from leftist and radical media worldwide since 1982, covering topics such as the labor movement, ecology and the environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Usage info: Licensed for 1 simultaneous user.

Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines (citations only for The New York Times). Search can be limited to book reviews.

Searches are limited to educational sites and, if accessed from the Libraries homepage, are automatically linked to academic or scholarly sources available at Notre Dame. The FindText links beneath entries take you to ND copies if we have them.

JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Full-text articles from journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.

Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Same contents as offered in Humanities abstracts, but with full text articles or links to full text.

"...provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals ... includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. ... includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works." -- EBSCOhost database description

IBSS database covers international social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. Abstracts and indexes journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

This a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

ASSIA database abstracts and indexes the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education dating back to 1987.

A bibliographic index to articles in journals and edited works received by Harvard's Tozzer Library. Coverage includes core anthropology and archaeology journals as well as interdisciplinary resources. Subject areas include anthropological perspectives on economics, ethnology, folklore, human evolution, linguistics, material culture, medicine, museum studies, primatology, psychology, religion, visual studies, and zooarchaeology. Usage info: Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.

Searchable database with listings of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

A comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals, including abstracts and indexes, and full text of some titles. Subject coverage: criminology, corrections, law enforcement, criminal law, criminal justice, rehabilitation, drug enforcement, addictions, alcohol, gambling, child abuse, industrial crime, industrial security, and family law.

The American Economic Association's comprehensive indexed bibliography of the world's economic literature, encompassing journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews, classified by JEL classification codes. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

Article citations and abstracts (some full text and image) for 1600+ U.S. and international business publications, covering business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, etc. Includes access to the Wall Street Journal.

Indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks on education. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, etc.

Covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

A Web-based digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

One of the best databases of engineering literature. Covers journal and conference literature for all engineering and related disciplines. Notre Dame has access to Compendex via the Engineering Village interface which allows simultaneous searching with INSPEC.

Provides indexing and abstracts for international serial and non-serial literature pertaining to civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, and transportation engineering. Consists of database subfiles that may be searched separately or simultaneously.

Database providing bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, patents and books published around the world.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on ecology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Environmental Science arose from disparate disciplines as a distinct field in the last half of the 20th century. Initially fueled by awareness of environmental degradation, risk of species loss, and global climate change, it straddles the divisions and seeks to integrate synergies between them in research and application. This includes but is not limited to the physical sciences, the planning and social sciences, the health sciences, engineering, governance, policy, and more.

"GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports." --Publisher's description.

Full-text access to more than 1500 sources (including some 150 periodicals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups and government and international agencies) on a broad range of women's issues worldwide. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

A free search engine with FindText access to ND's electronic journals. Searches MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations/abstracts in the fields of medicine, plus additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE.

MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed. Approximately 5,200 journals are indexed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) for the MEDLINE database. Records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

"MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free."

Features DSM-5 and the American journal of psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, resource provides sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed.

Provides abstracts of scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Search can be limited to book reviews. Usage info: Licensed for 6 simultaneous users.

Provides indexing and abstracts of scholarly articles, books, and essays on European and world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in: America: History and Life). Usage info: Licensed for 6 simultaneous users.

Provides access to more than 70 million pages of legal history available in full-text. Journals offer comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals and contain exact page images of the documents in PDF format as they appear in the original print.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database provides cover-to-cover full text to nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

Covers all major fields of philosophy from 1940 published in over 680 journals from more than 50 countries.

"Philosophy Online has been jointly developed by the Philosophy Documentation Center and InteLex Corporation as an electronic platform for fulltext and bibliographic resources in philosophy."--Home page. Access info: Notre Dame has full text access only to those journals for which we have print subscriptions

PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

With coverage from 1894 forward (where available), a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Does not include nonarticle content such as ads, covers, editorial board lists, and the like.

Open access to 1,427,617 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics from the Cornell University Library.

"abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards... including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture."--About.

Provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Search by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, CAS abstract number, chemical name, chemical structure, and formula. Usage info: Licensed for six simultaneous users.

Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, and substance abuse and addiction. Provides full-text coverage of scholarly journals and doctoral dissertations on sociology.

Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.

Indexes international periodicals in the fields of religios and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). It also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

The Index Religiosus endeavours to become the international reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. It covers publications written in various European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, etc. ) and is the result of collaboration between the Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) and KU Leuven, which are both recognized internationally for their excellence in the field of Theology and Religious Studies. The new bibliography begins from the basis of two existing bibliographies: the bibliography of the Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. These two tools are internationally recognized as essential working instruments for Theology and Religious Studies.

Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology, covering Christian, Jewish, and other world religions.

In 2018 the content of Catholic Periodical Literature Index (CPLI) became part of ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS.

Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.

Contains searchable full text of international affairs working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, foundation-funded research projects and links to international affairs centers, institutes, and further resources.

Provides access to information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.